The following appeared as a letter to the editor from a citizen to Preston County It has been observed over the past three years that the reports of damage and destruction of public property have steadily increased in Preston County At the same time it ha

The argument starts by stating that damage and destruction of public property has steadily increased over the past three years in Preston County. The author has concluded that increase in migration of out-of-state travellers has led to increase in damage and destruction of public property. He has directly jumped to an optimistic conclusion on the basis of false assumptions. It is not mentioned anywhere that the damage to public property has increased because of out-of-state migrants.

It can be true that sudden increase in out-of-state migrants over the past few years may have lead to an significant increase in population. But, it cannot be inferred that these migrants are responsible for increased incidences of vandalism. There can be other factors leading to increase in damage of public property in Preston County.

The increase in migration of out-of-state travelers in Preston County may be due to better employment opportunities than in other states. Lessening the number of migrants in Preston County can lead to an increase in unemployment rate of the country. The author has given a suggestion to take firm steps to lessen the number of out-of-state migrants but, he has not considered the impact of those steps in the long run. He has done nothing but to jump to a conclusion on the basis of any irrelevant assumption.

Reestablishment of civic order in Preston County can be done by increasing law enforcement and tightening security. Lessening the number of migrants cannot help to reduce damage to public property. Crime rate of Preston County can be significantly high because of which, there have been increased incidences of vandalism. The county gevernment should look into the security measures first rather than considering author's suggestion.

The author has not provided any proofs or evidences to the claims he has made in the argument. So, his argument cannot be considered to be true. Also, increase in migration rate cannot increase crime rate of Preston County. The county government should consider implementing tighter security measures first. The decrease in employment rate due to the suggestions made by author can lead to economic decline of the country.