Understanding the past is of little use to those in current positions of leadership.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the statement and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and supporting your position, you should consider ways in which the statement might or might not hold true and explain how these considerations shape your position.

As phrased by the author, for a leadership position in order to justify it one is not required to know about the past whereabouts of the people they lead which seems to be a bit slacky in various ways as the leader is often the one who is supposed to take the entire group into consideration before making any decision . His ability to take his group into confidence to act in certain way is what makes him a leader.Being ignorant to the past behavior of his people will only show his carefree attitude which is not at all justifiable for an effective leader.

Often the leader comes across certain situations where he has to decide which member in his group will be a good choice in order to complete the work effectively for which he has to know a little more about each of the group member than is written on his resume. Knowing more about the group members is often helpful for a leader in order to keep his group away from unnecessary tensions that arise due to the pre conceived notions of the members.

Say for example in situations if the leader is not aware of the past behaviour of its one of the group member who has a habit of leaking the confidential stances of the group and has shown such behavior in the past then it would prove to be quite difficult for the leader