The following opinion was provided in a letter to the editor of a national aeronautics magazine:

“Manned space flight is costly and dangerous. Moreover, the recent success of a series of unmanned space probes and satellites has demonstrated that a great deal of useful information can be gathered without the costs and risks associated with sending men and women into space. Therefore, we should invest our resources in unmanned space flight."

The author here states an argument that the space probes and satellite projects which are carried out should prefer unamanned programs and not manned flights. The author suggets that the space flights involving men and women into space are more costly and also dangerous to their lives. It also suggest that the information which is gathered from the unmanned space flights has been useful. Hence author suggests unmanned space flights over manned space flights.

As, the passage only suggests about the manned space flights being costly and no information about the cost of unmanned space flights we can not say that the unmanned space flights would be economically beneficient to us. Also, the success rate of unmanned space flights over mannned flights can also be a cruicial point for analyzing the argument.

The argument further says about the useful information received from unmanned space flights but the information whoich could be gathered by manned space can be more or less valuable. Hence no relevant comparision is seen in terms of the quality of information. It can also happen that the information which can be gathered by a human can not be gathered by unmanned space flights.

However, about the risk of sending men and women is always present in manned space flights as seen before in history. The loss of life can never be compensated by money. Hence the manned space flights are always on the risk of lives of the men and women sent.

But on the contrary to this there is no argument suggesting the safety measures taken in manned space flights which may suggest that the chances of lives of men and women could be higher or lower. Therefore, more safety measure can be less dangerous to their lives.

Hence, the argument can be concluded as whether it is benficient to invest in unmanned space flights and not in manned space flights. Is the quality of information gathered from both is same or not. Are the safety measures enough for reducing risk of lives. Hence, answers to above can resolve and a more clear view on this can be concluded.