“Over the past year, our late night news program has devoted increased time to national news and less time to weather and local news. During this time period, most of the complaints received from viewers were concerned with our station’s coverage of local and weather news. In addition, local businesses that used to advertise during our late-night news programs have just cancelled their advertising contracts with us. Therefore, in order to attract more viewers to the program and to avoid losing any further advertising revenues, we should restore the time devoted to weather and local news to its former level.”

Write a response in which you discuss what specific evidence is needed to evaluate the argument and explain how the evidence would weaken or strengthen the argument.

The argument is based on the late night news program. It states that there is a increase in the complaints from the viewers about there coverage on weather and local news. Adding to this many local advertisers has taken back there contracts. And theerfore to avoid this decline in viewers and adverising revenues the news channel ponders on whether to restore the original time devoted to weather and local news or not. This argument has some serious flaws which needs attention before taking any decision by the news program.

Firstly, the late night news program has decreased what amount of time from the coverage of the weather and local news is important to know. It may be reduced to a lesser coverage but all the news related to the weather and local news is covered. Then it would be unneccesary to increase the coverage of these news. Hence the quality of the news is more important than the quantity of time given for its coverage.

Secondly, the advertisers has taken back there advertising contracts is given in the argument but the reason behind this may not be neccesarily the less coverage of weather and local news. It can be loss to a particular company or any other reason. Therfore, we cannot associate that with the given concern of the news program.

Further, no guarantee can be given that changing the coverage time back to original will result in increased vieewrs and companies not cancelling there contracts for advertising. The reason for the complaints of viewers for the news program can be due to any other reason. For Example, the news program may have shifted the weather and local news at the very end of program, which can be disturbing to the viewers watching only weather or local news.

Hence, for a better result to this the late night news program may consider having a survey for the reason to viewers complaint and withdrawal of advertising contracts. This may give a better perspective for the news program to look at before restoring the original time to weather nad local news.