"To serve the housing needs of our students, Buckingham College should build a number of new dormitories. Buckingham's enrollment is growing and, based on current trends, will double over the next 50 years, thus making existing dormitory space inadequate. Moreover, the average rent for an apartment in our town has risen in recent years. Consequently, students will find it increasingly difficult to afford off-campus housing. Finally, attractive new dormitories would make prospective students more likely to enroll at Buckingham."

The author puts up a argument about the housing facilites provided by Buckingham Colllege for the students enrolled in the college. The author argues for an increase in the number of new dormitories as an increase in number of admissions in further years is expected. The author also argues that the current number of dormitories may be inadequate. Also, it is stated that it may be difficult to afford for students to live off campus due to increasing rent for apartments. Hence, to look for the consequences of the increase we must look for the viability of these idea.

The very first point which should be considered is what is the rate of admission currently compared to the rate of the graduates leaving the college in same year. Although a double over next 50 years is predicted but also each year many students will graduate and leave the college. Therefore, the requirement of new dormitory space may vary with this.

Another point is will the cost of the average rent of dormitory rooms after building new dormitory space be less than the rent of apartment off campus in the town? If the cost will not be less or is nearly equal than students may prefer living in an apartment rather on campus or may not. Hence, a better survey among students and creating a rough tender for this can be helpful in deciding whether it would be profitable to have new dormitory space or not.

Adding to this the average rent of apartments in the town is not affordable to what percentage of students should have been known in more detail. Also, the rents are high in which part of the town is also not known. The rents may be high in only a specific part of he town and pretty affordable in the other parts of town. Hence, it is important to know specifically which part are higher in costs for rent.

Also, building new dormitory space will require to convert any existing part of the College to dormitory space. It can be the football ground or the college auditorium or any other space. Are the students willing to sacrifice it for this? Is the need for a new dormitory the most important to students?