The following opinion was provided in a letter to the editor of a national aeronautics magazine:

“Manned space flight is costly and dangerous. Moreover, the recent success of a series of unmanned space probes and satellites has demonstrated that a great deal of useful information can be gathered without the costs and risks associated with sending men and women into space. Therefore, we should invest our resources in unmanned space flight."

Write a response in which you examine the stated and/or unstated assumptions of the argument. Be sure to explain how the argument depends on these assumptions and what the implications are for the argument if the assumptions prove unwarranted.

Space research does involve a consiederable dillemma between manned and unmanned missions. The argument presented in the letter to the editor seems to touch upon this issue. At first sight, it might seem apt to the readers of the aeronautics magazine that the conculsions brought in are correct and should be implemented as stated. However, after detailed scrutiny as mentioned in the following paragraphs, some glaring errors are noticed which needs to be addressed before going to the boardroom.

Firstly, the author mentions about manned flight being costly and dangerous but does not mention the benefits achieved through manned missions. Space agencies have been sending men and women into space for reasons that might not be apparent to the general populace. A human in space can be far more worthy than a robot or a software which can malfunction at anytime. The argument fails to integrate this factor.

Simultaneously, it also does not provide any information regarding the relative costs between manned and unmanned missions. The author has conspicuously assumed that the maintainance and sustainability costs of satellites and space probes are much lesser than the price incurred for sending humans into space. The author does not provide citation to the measure by which he/she qualifies the word "dangerous". It is quite likely that an unmanned rocket might also turn in to a missile during launch posing equal damage causing capability to human life.

Secondly, it is poor potrayal of data from the author where he/she mentions the "recent successes". The sheer lack of numbers and statistical evidence makes this argument weaker. To which launches is the author addressing stays a matter of discrepancy. It is highly plausible that these missions were successful because huge money was spent in determining and consolidating safety parametes. Along with this, it should be mentioned that the author does not mention the number of missions that were successful. If this article is written on the basis of 1 or 2 samples, it cannot stand on its feet. The article fails to or rather hides the failure ratio of unmanned space missions and the billions of dollars lost in the process through this statement.

Lastly, the author also seems to assume that all possible scientific missions can be undertaken by space probes itself. If, for instance, it requires only a human intervention to undertake an experiment, it would be enormously expensive to build a robot that imitates the event in space. Also, the author seems to trust electrical and computer-based equipments far more than experienced human heads. The author relies on his/her instincts to put in huge loads of money in the unmanned space program instead of detailed technical and statistical analysis.

In denouement, I would like to state that it is necessary that human safety should be a topmost priority while deciding on space missions. However, the facts mentioned in the aforementioned paragraphs make me skeptical regarding investing unwarranted resources to unmanned space flight which do possess its own set of challenges. This decision without proper statistical thought could lead to devouring of precious tax payers money.