The following opinion was provided in a letter to the editor of a national aeronautics magazine:

“Manned space flight is costly and dangerous. Moreover, the recent success of a series of unmanned space probes and satellites has demonstrated that a great deal of useful information can be gathered without the costs and risks associated with sending men and women into space. Therefore, we should invest our resources in unmanned space flight.""

Write a response in which you examine the stated and/or unstated assumptions of the argument. Be sure to explain how the argument depends on these assumptions and what the implications are for the argument if the assumptions prove unwarranted.

We have seen machines around us for years. Every day we try and keep bettering the technology, and yet the most powerful tool a man has is its brain and its own body, building out such machines. We started making machines to lessen our physical costs. Space flight has been a sector unachievable by us, physically. Nevertheless, we had the intellect to make unmanned probes to do the job for us. We have now outdone ourselves and are capable of sending out people in space. The reason for the continuous betterment of the technology is their own limitations. The author points out that manned space flights are costlier than unmanned space projects but has avoided noting the two-part return on the investment. First, the tasks done by humans in space are highly personalized and the limitations of the work done by a human are infinitesimal with respect to the limitations faced by the probes. Second, to reach a human level sophistication of any task, the cost associated with the upgrade of the current technologies could be higher than what it would cost the organization to send out humans in space.

The author, however, is right about the risk factor associated with manned space flights. Having said that, the risk associated with flying in an airplane was also high enough when it was in the development phase. The risk behind the task was what made plane-building so sophisticated and ultimately it revolutionized human travel. The risk factor always leads people to work harder and take a huge leap technologically and by doing so, we are opening up the door to something that could revolutionize the world in a way that no one can imagine.

Behind every such big action, there is a price associated, monetary or otherwise. To avoid doing so and be satisfied with what we have in hand right now is against the human evolutionary process. So the organization should definitely invest their resources in bettering the technologies to make manned space flights safely possible and to open new avenues for the human brain.