The best way for a society to prepare its young people for leadership in government, industry, or other fields is by instilling in them a sense of cooperation, not competition.Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree

A leader represents its team and is essentially the driving force to make or break the position of the team in the organization. The first part of the statement encourages the development of one of the prolific leadership qualities, cooperation. Whereas, the second part denounces the importance of the sense of competition, which in my view is an essential part of scaling up the position of an organization.

A team without a cooperative leader crumbles from within and the efficiency of the work done by them suffer gravely. The efficacy of different governance institutions can be seen as an example. The more authoritarian is the leader of the institution, the lesser motivation is provided for the team members. In current times it is evident that the mass, in general, holds a democratic government as the most effective government as it provides a platform to every sector to have its own voice and a position to weave in their own policies to increase their own outputs, which ultimately decides the overall growth of the nation, economically or otherwise. I do agree with the author, but only partially.

The second part of the statement treats the sense of cooperation and competition as opposite tastes. An institution's progress is determined not just by its own productivity but is also measured with respect to the growth of different other similar institutions. In my view, a leader should cooperate with its team building each member's personal strengths, instilling in them a sense of competition as a motivation to use their strengths in a rewarding direction. Unless the leader itself is not competitive enough, it won't be able to impart that sense into its team, thus hampering the productivity of the institution.

In conclusion, the author is correct in expressing the importance of imparting a sense of cooperation into the young future leaders but is wrong to ask it at the expense of the sense of competition. Both of these qualities come together to build a leader who can drive its institution to great heights.