"The following opinion was provided in a letter to the editor of a national aeronautics magazine:

“Manned space flight is costly and dangerous. Moreover, the recent success of a series of unmanned space probes and satellites has demonstrated that a great deal of useful information can be gathered without the costs and risks associated with sending men and women into space. Therefore, we should invest our resources in unmanned space flight.""

Write a response in which you examine the stated and/or unstated assumptions of the argument. Be sure to explain how the argument depends on these assumptions and what the implications are for the argument if the assumptions prove unwarranted.

The author of this letter has alleged that since unmanned space probes and satellites have seen recent success without the risks attached with manned space flight, we should invest in them. At face value, the author's argument appears reasonable enough. In further inspection however, we will find out that there are certain unwarranted assumptions that he has made. we will need him to clarify those assumptons to grant more credence to his argument.

It is true that we have seen recent successes in the area of unmanned space flight. Thanks to a forever advance in technology. Our author on the other hand has leaped from this to suggesting that we invest in unmanned space flight. He has failed to give us information regarding these successes of unmanned space flights. Perhaps , these successes are from a different country with a different motivation for space flight. They could be venturing into the moon, while we on the other hand are trying to get to mars. It could be the case that unmanned space flights were perfectly suitable to a flight to the moon, but would prove insufficient for a flight to Mars. Unless we know where these recent successes have occured and the context, we will be unable to make informed decisions. If the unmanned space flight would not work with our goals, we would have to put it aside.

The author has also stated that a great deal of useful information can be gathered from unmanned space flight, but he has failed to juxtapose this with how much information we are presently getting from manned space flight. Information that can fill 10 books is a great deal of information, but if we are approached by another prospect that could provide a thousand book of information, it follows that we will be more inclined to the latter instant. The author would have to juxtapose the amounts of information that can be gotten for us to be able to make more judicious decisions.

Costs and risks seem to problem to the author, and rightly so. Costs and risks are an important part of any business. Still, we will need to find out if investing in unmanned space flights would not cost us more. If we will be venturing into unmanned space flights from scratch, some costs will need to be made. These costs might prove to be far more than the benefits making the wisdom of switching to unmanned space flight questionable. The author would have to bolster his argument by providing information regarding how much cost will be needed to begin unmanned space flight, and by how much will unmanned space flight reduces cost. This will enable us to make a more informed decision. We could find more reason to shift to unmanned space flight or to hold on to manned space flight.

All in all, this author has noticed something that can prove quite significant. He has made a reasonable conclusion. However, certain assumptions threaten to undermine his argument. Addresing those assumptions will strenthen his argument. This will grant him more listening ears and his position might just be the catalyst for a major shift in space flight.