The following opinion was provided in a letter to the editor of a national aeronautics magazine:

Manned space flight is costly and dangerous. Moreover, the recent success of a series of unmanned space probes and satellites has demonstrated that a great deal of useful information can be gathered without the costs and risks associated with sending men and women into space. Therefore, we should invest our resources in unmanned space flight.

Write a response in which you examine the stated and/or unstated assumptions of the argument. Be sure to explain how the argument depends on these assumptions and what the implications are for the argument if the assumptions prove unwarranted.

The given opinion piece argues in favour of investing resources in unmanned space flight, on the premise that unmanned space probes and satellites gather information with fewer associated risks. The entire argument is built on those associated costs and risks.

First, let us examine and probe the line of reasoning. It is clear that manned space flight has its risks. However, can unmanned projects yield the same amount of precise information? Astronauts can carry out experiments at a better pace than machines; since, although machines may not be victim to exhaustion, in case of any kind of software failures, debugging them will create a whole plethora of complications. A human can do things quick, and voice issues, if any, directly to the on-ground scientists.

Next, is the risk associated with manned missions unmitigatable? Has research in reducing such kinds of risk plateaued? The argument assumes that this is the case; however taking away funds and resouces from this, based on the given opinion, would exacerbate the risks instead of solving them. Just because the current state of development in the area of unmanned space flight may be costly and dangerous, this doesn't justify abandoning ship. Investing in manned space flight could lead to more research and better safety measures, making it less dangerous and economical. Hence, this argument for taking away those funds is unjustified.

Also, the argument assumes space flight to be a monolithic field, where the information to be gathered from most missions is similar. This assumption is frail; did the (mentioned) unmanned space probes cover a wide enough range of experiments? Can such a system be hacked or misused by other entities, in such a way that on-ground scientists can't solve it? The recent successes have been reported to have delivered a lot of useful information, though the scope of this information has not been emphasized at all. Humans could even surpass this amount of information retrieval. Security aspects also have been considered to be an afterthought in this argument.

Lastly, the opinion is pretty vague in specifying the kinds of space probes that were sent unmanned; the argument assumes that manned and unmanned missions fulfill the same scientific purposes, and that unmanned space flight can fully replace manned missions. This is a shaky assumption, since every space mission is different, with varying goals. The success of the mentioned unmanned space probes could justify an argument in favour of unmanned flight in those specific areas, rather than the space flight industry as a whole. It does not justify the more general statement of encouraging investments in unmanned space flight.