The following opinion was provided in a letter to the editor of a national aeronautics magazine:

“Manned space flight is costly and dangerous. Moreover, the recent success of a series of unmanned space probes and satellites has demonstrated that a great deal of useful information can be gathered without the costs and risks associated with sending men and women into space. Therefore, we should invest our resources in unmanned space flight."

Write a response in which you examine the stated and/or unstated assumptions of the argument. Be sure to explain how the argument depends on these assumptions and what the implications are for the argument if the assumptions prove unwarranted.

The authour of this information claims that manned space flight is costly and dangerous and that the recent success of a series of unmanned space probes and satellites has demonstrated that a great deal of useful information can be gatthered without the costs and risks asssociated with sending men and women into space. However the conclusion of the author is inadequately supported with prooven evidence.

The author did not give us the statistics of the successful unmanned space flight and successful manned space flight, likewise the unsuccessful ones. So, this conclusion could have been solely from the author personal assumption. We need pragmatic evidence from diffenrent sources (putting in mind that they should be under the same conditions) to proove the fact that unmanned space is less costly and not dangerous.

Moreover, it was stated that the successs of unmanned space flight were gotten recently, this has not happened severally, so we are not sure if it will stand the test of time. And the conditions needed for the success are not stated, so we are not sure if the condition will be needing the effort of men and women.

From the forgoing, it can be concluded that the information is not substancially adequate to support the claim that manned space flight is more costly, dangerous and that the umanned space flight can be use to gather useful information without the costs and risks asssociated with sending men and women into space. This is not enough to validate the claim.