The following opinion was provided in a letter to the editor of a national aeronautics magazine:

"Manned space flight is costly and dangerous. Moreover, the recent success of a series of unmanned space probes and satellites has demonstrated that a great deal of useful information can be gathered without the costs and risks associated with sending men and women into space. Therefore, we should invest our resources in unmanned space flight."

The following argument is flawed for numerous reasons. Primarily, the argument is based on the unwarranted assumptions that, manned space flight is costly and dangerous in contrast to unmanned space flight, rendering its main conclusion, that we should invest more on unmanned space flight, invalid.

The argument fails to provide any justificaitons that information obtained from unmanned space flight has high reliability compare to those obtained from manned space flight. The argument could have provided evidence from the research made by simply consulting a Librarian for review of published studies to show whether a paralled exists between unmanned space flight and accuracy of results. Had the argument gave information that unmanned space flight gives more accurate result than manned, it is yet insufficient as we would also need to take on pragmatic approach.

The argument also leaves many other unanswered questions. Unmanned space flight are more cost efficient than manned space flight. Even if the argument provide information regarding the non-negotiable nature of the cost put forward by the Astronauts, it does not assert the claim as no figure is provided regarding the cost of both manned and unmanned space flight for the same space tasks or program.

Finally, the argument claims without warrant that, manned space flight has high risk involved. So even if, the argument provide recent evidence for this claim, it is still lacking because it does not information to show that large percentage of unmanned space flight has low risk involved compare to manned space flight in the past.

Because the argument makes several unwarranted assumptions, it fails to make a convincing case that, manned space flight is costly and dangerous as such investment on unmanned space flight should be encouraged.