A true university education encompasses far more than the narrow, specialized study of a single discipline. Only through exploring the broad spectrum of liberal arts courses can students become truly learned.

It has been observed that a lot of well-known historical figures possess a well-rounded intellect, such as Van Gogh and Leonardo Da Vinci. They possess skills in various fields, from science to art and the humanities. Using their example, one could make an argument in favour of widening the courses taught in different disciplines, effectively making all students study a plethora of subjects. This is a complex area of discussion, and needs to be approached from different points of view, to come up with a holistic solution.

From a student's point of view, most of them have more specialised interests as they grow older. Indeed, that is the reason the current education system pushes students to study various subjects when they are younger, so that they are more likely to find and pursue their interests as they grow older. A university education, on the other hand, is where students tend to enter with a specialized interest in mind, and with a lower preference for trying out various courses. There is just a small fraction of students who take up interdisciplinary courses that cover a more eclectic range of topics. Even these courses tend to be unidirectional, with barely any that have equal focus on science and humanities. But should students also be made to learn liberal arts courses to fulfil a 'true university education'? A student may argue that subjects like sociology and history bored them back in middle/high school. Their interests tend to be more inclined towards the single discipline that they signed up to study. This could be an argument against the claims of a further 'encompassing' university education.

In the IITs, the most prestigious engineering universities of India, a majority of the students pursuing their B.Tech tend to take the mandatory humanities courses for granted, not focusing on them at all. They argue that it takes more time and effort to study a humanities course, and that they didn't pay for this. This may bring other things into question, like the teaching quality, but the professors of these courses are highly qualified, with several years of experience. If students are made to study liberal arts or the humanities without their interest, will they really learn? Forcing or pushing students to take courses may put these subjects on their transcripts, but does this form a 'true' university education, as argued? It would not be a great approach to force such courses, but with this stance, we may look to other ways to help students get a good education. It may be possible to have students learn more diverse topics without making them explore a whole field that they ruled out, in favour of taking the specialised courses that they do.

A more existential question to ask may be, "If students simply go ahead and study specialized topics, without much outside-knowledge, what is a true university education? Without compulsorily requiring students to broaden the span of their courses, how will they be well-rounded as a human being after they graduate?" Liberal arts courses could be offered as electives for students to take. The core courses of every discipline could have elements added to them that are more value-based, without fully deviating from the specialized topics themselves. A true university education is not one that is forced upon students; the well-roundedness of students comes about with a better university environment, one where the interlacing of subjects is embraced. Students could be given other avenues and ways to learn the kinds of things one would learn in a liberal arts course.

Hence, although a true university education covers far more than a single specialization, it does not mean that students' ability to be well-rounded comes about by exploring liberal arts courses. The other fields also have the ability to be taught in a value-based manner, without having students study liberal arts to gain knowledge. Thus, the claim made is false; students do not have to adhere to the liberal arts courses to become 'truly learned', there are other ways.