The following is a petition to the city council of Centerville Over the past three years there has been a marked increase in cases of sidewalk rage similar to the irrational anger drivers experience on the road but instead among sidewalk walkers The resul

The author suggests that the council of Centerville must ban cell phone use on sidewalks. The claim is that the use of cell phones by pedestrians is the cause of 'sidewalk rage' which has resulted in an increase in assaults, property damage, and disruptions of normal pedestrian traffic. There are many flaws with this line of reasoning and I will discuss what specific evidence is needed to evaluate the argument.

Firstly, the assumption is that the main reason for the marked increase in cases of 'sidewalk rage' are due to pedestrians using their cell phones while walking. This doesn't provide any specific evidence as to why this is the main cause of the issue. In addition, we are not sure if the spike in irrational anger among sidewalk walkers is due to reasons other than cell phone use. It could be that pedestrians are enraged because they almost got hit by drivers when crossing a sidewalk. If cell phones are banned and the issue remains unresolved, this will weaken the argument.

Secondly, the author assumes that using a cell phone will slow down pedestrian traffic and increases the likelihood of people bumping into one another. While this could hold some merit in busy cities like New York, we have no idea how busy the sidewalks are in Centerville. However, the author states that Middletown has had a significant decrease of incidents of sidewalk crime and hasn't had any complaints. Just because this ban worked in Middletown doesn't mean it will work in Centerville. For all we know, Centerville could be in a rural area and Middleville could be in an uban area.

Thirdly, the passage mentions that Children are especially vulnerable because they are too short to be easily seen. This assumption doesn't specify exactly what the children would be vulnerable to.

In conclusion, the argument could be strengthened by providing specific evidence as to how cell phone uses are linked to the increase in sidewalk crime.