Technology while apparently aimed to simplify our lives only makes our lives more complicated

Technology has made great advancements over the decades and continues to improve every single day. The prompt suggests that technology only makes our lives more complicated. I mostly disagree with the claim and will elaborate on the necessary points to defend my position.

Firstly, technology has simplified our lives in many ways. An example of this is kitchen appliances, such as a refridgerator. In the past century, people didn't have refridgerators and had to preserve their food with preservatives such as salt. They had to dry their meats in order to prevent it from spoiling or make sure that all of it was eaten before becoming expired. Technology has made it easy to prevent food from rotting.

Secondly, aside from simplifying the way we preserve our perishables, technology has simplified the way we communicate with others. Before telephones were invented, people would have to rely on postal service to conversate with others who may live far away. If people thought that the invention of the telephone made communication simple, it been simplified even further with the invention of cell phones. Smart phones in today's age make communication easier than it has ever been before. We could speak face to face with someone across the globe using video calls with today's technology.

Although, in contrast to my stance, technology has made our lives more complicated in some ways. Social media has simplified our lives in many ways, yet it has brought about new problems that can make life more complicated. Having an online presence can lead to issues such as cyberbullying and online stalking. However, if precautions are taken to make social media accounts private and to keep your location hidden, it can be a simple and safe way to stay connected with friends and family. Thus, social media can be a productive tool to make staying updated with friends that we don't speak to often simpler than ever before.

In conclusion, although social media can make life more complicated in some ways, if necessary safety precautions are taken it can serve as a tool to keep in touch with those who are important. I believe that social media has succeeded in its attempt to simplify our lives with the reasons that I have explained.