No field of study can advance significantly unless it incorporates knowledge and experience from outside that field Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the statement and explain your reasoning for the posit

The prompt urges that not a single field of study can progress significantly unless it incorporates knowledge and experience from outside that field. I mostly disagree with this claim and will elaborate on the necessary points to defend my position.

To begin with, fields of study can only advance significantly with knowledge and experience from within its own field. The clearest example of this is math. Math can only progress with numbers, equations, and measurements. There is no other field that can advance our knowledge in this subject in particular. This is important because not a single outside experience can significantly improve the way we perform mathematics.

To expand on the point, math is the only field that can advance nearly every other subject, yet no other field can help it advance. Understanding math can help us perform better at sports, games, and science. Learning how to use probability and angles to make the best possible choices in these fields can help improve performance. A Stanford study showed that athletes that understood these math principles performed better at the given sport than than those that did not. This goes to show that knowledge of math is power and can help improve our decision making skills.

On the other hand, in contrast to my stance, one could argue that math isn't a mandatory skill to have to master a sport or a game. However, if someone were to understand certain concepts such as probability and slopes, this could easily boost a player's critical thinking and problem solving skills. Thus. it is imperative that mathematical principles are applied to all other outside fields.

Nevertheless, although it is true that becoming great at a skill doesn't require someone to know how to use math, for the reasons that I have described about math remains the one field of study that can only advance significantly with knowledge and experience from its own field.