The following is a petition to the city council of Centerville:

"Over the past three years, there has been a marked increase in cases of 'sidewalk rage,' similar to the irrational anger drivers experience on the road, but instead among sidewalk walkers. The result is an increase in assaults, property damage, and disruptions of normal pedestrian traffic. In order to address this growing problem, the council must ban cell phone use on sidewalks. Not only do people texting or using their phones slow down pedestrian traffic, but they are also more likely to walk into the road or bump into other walkers. Children are especially vulnerable because they are too short to be easily seen. Middletown passed such a ban and not only have they heard no complaints, but the reported incidents of sidewalk crime has gone down significantly.

The city council at Centerville receives a petition stating that there was significant increase in cases of 'sidewalk rage' on roads.As a result of this sidewalkers assaults, property damage, and disruptions of typical pedestrian traffic, surged in numbers. The one who filed this petition assumes that the usage of cell phones on sidewalks is main reason behind this chaos in public areas. so, it suggests to ban the usage of cell phones on sidewalks similar to Middletown where there is a ban on cell phones on sidewalks. The petitioner is right insofar, but in broader perspective, the petition fails to underscore many points it raised. Since it is based on many unsubstantiated assumptions.

Firstly, The petitioner implies that over past three years there is increase in sidewalk rage. But petitioner fails to give the reason for the rage in the pedestrians. Even if we assume that some walkers are furious--petitioner fails to offer enough evidence to support assumption that mobile is responsible for that rage. There may be several reasons for his/her rage , it may be some personal issue, or a mental condition of the walker, or it can be even most of the times the fellow pedestrian causing some type of disturbance.It would in turn result in assault and disruptions of pedestrian traffic. For example there may be a group of vandals and teasing and causing the warp the public. The petitioner nowhere mentions about them. If this situation is true then mobile has nothing to do with the sidewalkers rage.

Even if we assume that petitioner claim is true about mobile phones are responsible for this chaos in the city, then there are some points the petitioner need to work on. Firstly, has he/she mentioned that there has been surge in this type of crimes since three years, but petitioner fails to juxtapose the usage of phones and three years back. If the mobile phone sales in Centerville plummeted over last three years it widely undermines the given argument. To strengthen his/her argument the author would benefit from gathering enough evidences to underscore his statement.

Lastly, the petitioner says that there was similar kind of ban on cell phones in Middletown and not only have they heard no complaints, but the reported incidents of sidewalk crime has gone down significantly. But petitioner in making this statement surely have not done any analysis or at least he did not present it here in the argument. This point greatly lose its validity when there is a comparison between both the cities. For example, in Middletown usage of phone per average individual may be more than in Centerville, and also population of Middletown is high compared to Centerville. Another possibility is that the location of Centerville and Middletown also comes into consideration. If we assume Middletown is a country side with less number of people and only youth in that place uses phones, then that may be the reason they might not have received the any complaints when phones were banned and previously there were few sidewalk crime because of phones and they might have gone down significantly. It may be not the same case with Centerville.

In conclusion, petitioner can be found largely found deficient of the evidences that needed for supporting mobile are the only reason for sidewalk crime. Other than mobiles there may be vandals, mentally disordered people, drunkards, and etc be reason for this sidewalk crime and it would completely annul the petitioner point, banning mobile phones to cut the sidewalks felony.