Discussing controversial topics with those with contrasting views is not useful because very few people change their mind when questioned about their core beliefs.

I fundamentally agree that discussing controversial topics with those contrasting views does not yield positive outcome because there are many people who tend to be obstinate to change their core beliefs.However, on contrary there are few people who readily change their opinion on discussion--If they are convinced with the opponents explanation and open to accept the facts.It entirely depends on person and we have to see it case-by-case.

Firstly, I concede with the statement , controversial topics itself means there are people on both side of the topic and in issues such as astronomy, politics, people tend to have their own beliefs and they follow it. When someone tries to change the their beliefs it always one on one moot competition and people stick to their core beliefs, In cases like this we cannot change the core belief of the person.Some core beliefs are instilled into persons from the very young age by their parents, society and traditions. It is how we are bought up and our beliefs defines our personality and character. Changing them sometime require a courage - to accept the truth.

Lately in 16th century when Galileo said that the earth is not the centre of universe(According to then society belief), but the sun is the center of universe and earth revolves around it, Many in the society opposed it even he was sentenced to death because-then people thought he was against the beliefs of society.Even today, In Pakistan still some scientists' believe that earth is flat and they are not ready to accept the truth that the earth is round, as we all know. There also exists this kind of people in the society where they are to stubborn to change their opinion. As we discussed earlier it entirely depends on the individual wish, whether they are open to change and accept the truth.

But however there are still people in the society, who change their opinion on a healthy discussions and accept the truth about the topic. For instance, generally public in India tend to believe astrology, clairvoyance a lot. When there was an incident, where a charlatan was exposed for making money by taking advantage on people beliefs. People stopped encouraging such incidents there after.

In crux,discussing controversial topics with those contrasting views does not yield positive outcome until the person is ready for change and it also depends on case to case. Some topics like political beliefs cannot be changed because everyone have own unique beliefs. At last its beliefs that define a person.