The following is a recommendation from the Board of Directors of Monarch Books.

"We recommend that Monarch Books open a café in its store. Monarch, having been in

business at the same location for more than twenty years, has a large customer base because

it is known for its wide selection of books on all subjects. Clearly, opening the café would

attract more customers. Space could be made for the café by discontinuing the children's

book section, which will probably become less popular given that the most recent national

census indicated a significant decline in the percentage of the population under age ten.

Opening a café will allow Monarch to attract more customers and better compete with Regal

Books, which recently opened its own café."

Write a response in which you discuss what questions would need to be answered in

order to decide whether the recommendation is likely to have the predicted result. Be sure to explain how the answers to these questions would help to evaluate the

recommendation.

The above passage is from the recommendation by the Board of Directors of Monarch Books. Here they are suggesting the book store to introduce a cafe inside their store to increase customers. But, before applying such extreme recommendation there are some questions which must be answered.

Such as, the Board of member is advising to discontinue its children section and make space for the cafe. But, as we don't know that from past twenty years the customer are attracted to which section of the library, taking such measure may reduce the rate of customers rather than increasing. To illustrate, If the Monarch Books is popular in the community for their huge collection of children books or the majority of customers coming to the stores are children, then discontinuing the section will hamper the Monarch books reputation. Hence, further analysis is required related to the type of customer coming to the book store and the type of books that are mostly sold.

Moreover, Board of members are making these suggestion based on the national census that indicates the decline in the percentage of under ten population. Here questions like where the data is taken from? which year this data is related to? Will the decline remain consistent for next coming years or change? must be answered. Because for example, if the decline is related to previous 10 years the applying such recommendation now based on this data is irrelevant, as the data is too old to be taken for consideration. Similarly is the data is old then there are chances that the decline will surely change and then removing the children section will bring more downfall in the customer foot-count that today.

Board of member are also comparing this scenario with the Regal Books who have recently opened the cafe in the bookstore. But this does not imply that they are attracting more customers in their shop. We must raise the questions like what was the count before they opened the cafe? What is the count of customers now? Are they making any profit by doing so? It is the questions like this which help us t better analysis the effect of any remedy before we imitate the same.

Hence, therefore the questions like these related to the discontinuing of children section, Validity of the census and Comparison to Regal Books which must be answered by the Boards of Director before any such recommendation is implemented.