Claim: In any field — business, politics, education, government — those in power should step

down after five years.

Reason: The surest path to success for any enterprise is revitalization through new

leadership.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with

the claim and the reason on which that claim is based.

The above claim and reason is stating that whatever the field, the people in power must step down after a tenure of 5 years. According to reason this will ensure the success of the enterprise. This may sound true and convincing as even our goverment elections are held every 5 year, but I do not agree with the claim or the reason provided. There are some facts which must be considered before calling this option as the 'surest path'. Applying the same formula of success to every field doesn't bring the same results.

In business, politics, education and government, experience of the leader counts the most. A person with experience will ensure the success and smooth running of the enterprise. With change in leadership every 5 year, it will not allow the person to understand the working of the system properly and to take effective measures. Moreover, with new member coming every few interval will also make it difficult for the companies or nations to trust the new leadership in power. As relations are created and maintained over a period of time, 5 years seems very short span if we consider the life of a industry or a nation. A leader must be able to understand the system of the enterprise, get to know the difficulties of the situation and apply the required remedies. Furthermore, we must take into account that this solutions will take time to show effects and would require some changes over a period of time. With new leadership every 5 years, this will become difficult to take place.

In addition, revitalization only works to ensure that there is no misuse of power. Since, the leader is being change every time, it makes sure that the power does not retain to only one person. But, this can also be done by distributing the power into multiple entities. For example, in an Industry, rather than appointing one manager for all the operations, we can distribute the task into multiple positions. This will ensure that the overall control of system is not limited to one person. This will avoid courruption and misuse of power. Hence, only revitalization may not be the only surest path to success.

In conclusion, For the success of an enterprise we do not need to revitalize the leadership. A leader who gains experience over time will be more beneficial for the success of the enterprise than assigning a new one every 5 years.