The following is a recommendation from the Board of Directors of Monarch Books.

"We recommend that Monarch Books open a café in its store. Monarch, having been in business at the same location for more than twenty years, has a large customer base because it is known for its wide selection of books on all subjects. Clearly, opening the café would attract more customers. Space could be made for the café by discontinuing the children's book section, which will probably become less popular given that the most recent national census indicated a significant decline in the percentage of the population under age ten. Opening a café will allow Monarch to attract more customers and better compete with Regal Books, which recently opened its own café."

Write a response in which you discuss what questions would need to be answered in order to decide whether the recommendation is likely to have the predicted result. Be sure to explain how the answers to these questions would help to evaluate the recommendation.

The Board of Directors of Monarch Books have made several arguments in their proposal for opening up a café in its book store. However, their arguments contain many loopholes making their proposal for the café rather unsatisfactory.

Firstly, they have claimed that Monarch will attract more customers if they open a cafe. However, in the previous statement, they have expressed that the store is known for its wide selection of books; this entirely contradicts their own reasoning for the café. If the store is popular for keeping a variety of books, maybe it should focus on that aspect and not stray away to an uncharted territory of running a café. Since the customers come for the books, the store should prioritise on fulfilling their first and foremost need which is providing them with the options of different books. If a cafe is opened, it will undoubtedly create noise in the store which can annoy the readers who come for the pleasure of reading in the silence. And since it is mentioned that the store has been doing well for twenty years, there isn’t any urgent need to revamp the working of the store. Why fix something that isn’t broken?

Secondly, a decline in the percentage of the population of children in no way is a sign of decreased interest in children’s books. It might be that the life expectancy of the people has risen and people are dying older than they used to. This makes a case for an increase in the number of the older generation which led to a decrease in percentage in children. Also, the census conducted was for the nation and it might be possible that the location of Monarch books has actually witnessed an increase in the number of children. Another argument that can be made is closing the children’s section might also have an impact on the sales of other genres of books as well since parents who come with children also tend to buy books for themselves. A stronger case for this argument would have been to show a decline in sales in the children’s book section over the past few years.

Thirdly, the Board raises the argument of competing with Regal Books, who also opened up a café. But we have no information about the reasons for the success of Regal Books and whether their café is attracting people or not. It is very likely that their café isn’t popular at all with the people and the only reason that they are coming is for purchasing their books. Assuming that their café is popular, we still do not have any evidence about the other factors which might have helped them gain popularity. Maybe there is no café nearby or since they have opened their café only recently, they are giving a lot of discounts on their products. A stronger argument would have been made if there were positive reviews from a survey conducted about their café.

In conclusion, the board’s recommendation cannot be taken into account as it depends on a number of assumptions each of which is questionable. The idea of opening a new café in the book store can only be accepted if the weaknesses already referred to are all removed.