In an attempt to improve highway safety, Prunty County last year lowered its speed limit from 55 to 45 miles per hour on all county highways. But this effort has failed: the number of accidents has not decreased, and, based on reports by the highway patrol, many drivers are exceeding the speed limit. Prunty County should instead undertake the same kind of road improvement project that Butler County completed five years ago: increasing lane widths, resurfacing rough highways, and improving visibility at dangerous intersections. Today, major Butler County roads still have a 55 mph speed limit, yet there were 25 percent fewer reported accidents in Butler County this past year than there were five years ago.

Write a response in which you discuss what specific evidence is needed to evaluate the argument and explain how the evidence would weaken or strengthen the argument.

The author states that inspite of lowering the speed limit from 55 to 45 miles per hour, Prunty County highways have not experienced a decrease in the number of accidents. The author then compares the measures taken by Butler County to reduce the number of accidents and suggests implementing similar strategies for solving this problem. However, there are many loopholes in this argument and several other factors must be considered in order to truly reach to a proper conclusion.

Firstly, the author has naively compared the situation of Butler County and Prunty Country without considering the difference in location of the two highways. As mentioned, Butler County undertook a road improvement project, with the idea of improving roads and resurfacing rough highways. There is no evidence to suggest that these were the strategies which were adopted to decrease the number of accidents. The 25 percent fewer reported accidents might have been a by-product of improvement of roads and not a direct consequence. What worked for Butler County may not necessarily work for Prunty County.

Secondly, it is necessary to first evaluate the nature of traffic in Prunty County and Butler County. It might be that traffic is very less in Butler County and so even though the speed limit is 55 mph, since the number of vehicles on the roads are less, it very natural that the number of accidents will also be less. On contrast, Prunty County might cater to a large traffic and a wide variety of vehicles- from bikes to cars to big trucks. Adding that to dangerous intersection an high speed of vehicles, the chances of accident in evidently increases. By understanding the nature of traffic, some rules and regulations can be laid out with respect to different vehicles such as different speed limits for different vehicles.

Thirdly, the author states that many drivers in Prunty County were exceeding the speed limit of 45 miles per hour. But it is important to find out why this has happened. If a restriction was imposed on speed of vehicles, it should be ensured that the drivers follow them. This shows that the police or the people responsible for surveillance did not do their jobs correctly. High speed of vehicles can be a major reason for the accidents on the highway. Hence, tighter regulations need to be implemented in order to keep a check on the speed limits of the drivers.

Fourthly, it will also help in analysing the accidents, the time of day they occurred, and the type of vehicles involved in the accidents. If a greater number of accidents are happening during the day, then speed limit can be reduced further or if majority of accidents are happening for two-wheelers, then a separate lane can be reserved for the two-wheelers.

Hence, the arguer has failed to analyse the situation correctly. In order to thoroughly examine the problem, we need to consider several other factors such as nature of traffic and accidents and also increase surveillance on the highways. Simply following Butler County’s methods might not produce fruitful results.