Educational institutions have a responsibility to dissuade students from pursuing fields of study in which they are unlikely to succeed.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the claim. In developing and supporting your position, be sure to address the most compelling reasons and/or examples that could be used to challenge your position.

In this modern world, everyone wants to be successful in the shortest time without encountering many obstacles and educational institutions do play an important role in helping an individual in that regard. Ask anyone who has had the experience of studying in a college and they will tell you how studying there helped them gained knowledge and expand their horizons which helped them in their career. However, no one would concur with the fact that the institute told them exactly what to focus on and what not to.

Educational institutions have no right to decide what is beneficial for a student and what is deleterious. It is up to the individual to decide what fields of study he or she wants to pursue. It is a very personal decision where a lot is at stake. Everybody has the right to make their own decisions. One knows about himself better than any other person, let alone an organisation who is not involved in his personal life. No one knows about his strengths, weaknesses, interests and ambitions better than anybody else except himself.

Even if an educational institution decides to dissuade a person from choosing a field of study, how to decide whether a person will be good at something or not and what are the parameters to decide that these groups are suitable for a subject while others are not? One might argue that past academic performances might be a criterion. However, if we were to only consider only marks to divide them, we would only be fooling ourselves. If someone has scored fewer marks but has a keen interest in the subjects, it would be very unjust to even deny him the chance of studying those subjects. Maybe he is a little behind his peers and would need some time to get better. There are many examples of people who in their childhood who were not that good but went on to become successful. Albert Einstein was not very bright in his schooldays. Had the school stopped him from studying math and science, who knows how the world would have been right now. We certainly wouldn’t have come to know about the theory of relativity which changed the foundations of quantum physics.

Also, the term ‘success’ differs from person to person. For the educational institution, success might be determined by a student’s academic performance. Success for a student, however, might be participating in many competitions and gaining experiences that cannot be provided by the educational institution.

On the other hand, one can argue that teachers can help a student in evaluating his strengths. A teacher has awareness about a student’s likings and aptitude in a particular subject. Other than the student himself, the teacher is the only person who can correctly give guidance and help him choose his subjects for future study.

In the end, some students can succeed in the fields they are unlikely to succeed now. They also have the right to change their subjects if they don’t like them. However, it is not wise for the educational institutions to dissuade students from fields of study in which they are unlikely to succeed. They do not possess this responsibility.