The following is a recommendation from the Board of Directors of Monarch Books.

"We recommend that Monarch Books open a café in its store. Monarch, having been in business at the same location for more than twenty years, has a large customer base because it is known for its wide selection of books on all subjects. Clearly, opening the café would attract more customers. Space could be made for the café by discontinuing the children's book section, which will probably become less popular given that the most recent national census indicated a significant decline in the percentage of the population under age ten. Opening a café will allow Monarch to attract more customers and better compete with Regal Books, which recently opened its own café."

Write a response in which you discuss what questions would need to be answered in order to decide whether the recommendation is likely to have the predicted result. Be sure to explain how the answers to these questions would help to evaluate the recommendation.

The Board of Directors of Monarch Books has proposed to open a café on behalf of the store’s business expansion. Although the intention is good, a few aspects need to be thoroughly examined before the proposal can be adopted because it is based on a few insufficient assumptions.

First, the board members believe that the café will drawn more customers to the store. However, this belief is established on the assumption that current and potential customers prefer to and enjoy a café, which is not proven. Some customers may be merely interested in the book selection and could not care less about the café, in which case, the opening of a café will not affect these customers that much. In order to find out the market’s preferences, a survey on these current and potential customers need to be conducted.

In order to open a café, the bookstore is planning to shut down the children’s book section because of a decrease in the population of ten years or younger. In this suggestions, they have made two assumptions that need to be further questioned. First, they have assumed that shutting the children’s book section will not affect current customers, which I believe is unrealistic. How will closing the children’s book section affect current customers? Is there a large proportion of books sold under children’s book category? If the children’s books sales take up a significant amount of their total sales, it will be unwise to stop selling children’s books. Besides, they are assuming that the decrease will lead to a declining popularity of children’s book. However, children don’t buy books on their own, and parents always buy books for them. Therefore, even though there may be less children under ten, parents may continue purchase many children’s books. What’s more, what about books targeting children above ten? The board really need to ask questions that can help them find answers the support the closing of the children’s book section.

In addition, they have claimed that opening a café will make them more competitive against Regal Books. This claim assumes that, except for running a café, Regal and Monarch are exactly in the same in terms of customer reviews, service, environment, book selection, and other aspects. However, to support this argument, the bookstore needs to find out whether there is space to improve in other areas in their business. Also, they need to find out what they can do to make their café better than Regal’s café so that it can truly outperform Regal Book’s.

Given the discussion above, a series questions that can reflect customers’ preferences on café, that can display children’s book contributions in sales, and that can indicate other areas to improve will help the board to understand more about the influence of opening a café and make a better decision on this recommendation.