The following is a recommendation from the business manager of Monarch Books.

"Since its opening in Collegeville twenty years ago, Monarch Books has developed a large customer base due to its reader-friendly atmosphere and wide selection of books on all subjects. Last month, Book and Bean, a combination bookstore and coffee shop, announced its intention to open a Collegeville store. Monarch Books should open its own in-store café in the space currently devoted to children's books. Given recent national census data indicating a significant decline in the percentage of the population under age ten, sales of children's books are likely to decline. By replacing its children's books section with a café, Monarch Books can increase profits and ward off competition from Book and Bean."

Write a response in which you discuss what specific evidence is needed to evaluate the argument and explain how the evidence would weaken or strengthen the argument.

The business manager of Monarch books, concludes that, substituting its children’s books section with a café might increase the profit made from sales of books and also ward off competition from their counterparts Book and Bean. However, while the conclusion of monarch book store manager might hold water, its suggestion rests on unfounded ideas which if not substantiated, will dramatically weaken the persuasiveness of the argument. Thus, the following three questions must be answered.

Firstly, the census data indicating a significant decline in the percentage of the sales of children’s book under age ten, carried out scientifically? May be the survey was carried out through online voting, and majority of the voters were ardent supporters of Bean Book. Perhaps it might be a ploy made by them just to give false data on the outcome of the data collected. Perhaps what if the s population census was carried out only in areas closer to monarch bookstore, and areas far from the bookstore has not being accounted for, this will distort the outcome of the population census, making it flawed.

Secondly, what is the assurance that if they should expand their business, by also having a café to subvert competition, will make them vanquish their competition?

For instance, what if Bean Book offers attractive discount, or sell at a lower price than the amount monarch is offering to sell their books, if this happens this will affect the overall income generated on a yearly basis, and if care is not taken they might lose all their customers to Bean Book.

Finally, what if most parents do come to the book store with their children, how will they feel when they noticed their children spots have been replaced with a café? Perhaps they might feel disillusioned with the store, and as a result of this, they might lose a large percentage of their customers, which in turn affects their productivity and make them less competitive against their rivals Bean Book.

In conclusion, while monarch manager might have come to a sound conclusion regarding the need to have a café, more data is needed before a firm conclusion is reached. If the manager answers the above three questions, it will be possible to fully evaluate the validity of the argument.