Educational institutions have a responsibility to dissuade students from pursuing fields of study in which they are unlikely to succeed.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the claim. In developing and supporting your position, be sure to address the most compelling reasons and/or examples that could be used to challenge your position.

No one has the right to tell anyone the area in which they should specialize, The choice of one's college major is not a trivial one,

because once we have made the decision we begin to second guess it. The prompt recommends that educational institutions should choose fields that are much more employable, rather than those that have fewer job prospects. However, in my opinion, I strongly disagree with this suggestion and argue that students should be encouraged to look inward rather than outward when choosing their field of specialization for two reasons.

firstly, for instance, during the early 1860s, students who studied chemical or nuclear engineering had access to dizzying job opportunities due to the fact that it was being employed in the production of warfare equipment like a nuclear weapon and also used for power plants. most students that were advised by their teachers to specialize in this area due to its glut of opportunities would be making a great mistake because some of these students might not have passion for physics and chemistry, so pushing them to join chemical engineering due to this dizzying job prospects will be a great error because someone who loves to paint and was forced to join chemical engineering might not perform because he abhors the course and later this will affect the productivity of the whole company due to lack of interest on the path of the student.In the 21st centuy most nuclear power plants have been shut down due to its noxious effect on the environment, this consequently leading to the loss of jobs to lots of chemical enginners and most if not all have to start from scratch tonlook for job, But had it been, the students decision on what to specialize on had not been imposed by his tutors he will still have his job and enjoy what he is doing, since its what he loves eventhough the money might not be sufficient to cater for him.

Secondly, for instance in Nigeria there was a time in Nigeria during operation feed the nation, most people were forced to join the agriculture sector or plant in their backyard, individuals who loves to do other things like horse racing or lecturing that are being forced to go into farming will perform below expectation, since they do not derive joy in farming activities, this in turn will affect the overall performance of the agriculture sector there by also affecting the whole economy.

In conclusion, although its good to venture into fields that their prospects of job availability are higher. However, it would not be like enjoying what you love to do eventhough if the pay is small. computer enginnering jobs cant be available forever theres still going to be low employment opportunities in the area because the job market is ever channging, so its best for everyone of us to do what we love rather than what people imposed on us to do.