The following is a recommendation from the business manager of Monarch Books.

"Since its opening in Collegeville twenty years ago, Monarch Books has developed a large customer base due to its reader-friendly atmosphere and wide selection of books on all subjects. Last month, Book and Bean, a combination bookstore and coffee shop, announced its intention to open a Collegeville store. Monarch Books should open its own in-store café in the space currently devoted to children's books. Given recent national census data indicating a significant decline in the percentage of the population under age ten, sales of children's books are likely to decline. By replacing its children's books section with a café, Monarch Books can increase profits and ward off competition from Book and Bean."

Write a response in which you discuss what specific evidence is needed to evaluate the argument and explain how the evidence would weaken or strengthen the argument.

The argument that by replacing its children's books section with a cafe, Monarch Books can increase profits and ward off competition from Book and Bean is not entirely logically convincing as it ignores some crucial assumptions.

Firstly, since Monarch Books had a Large customer base at Collegeville for the last twenty years, the residents who were used to an atmosphere in bookstore might not like the idea or the ambience of a bookstore cum cafe. The residents might be accustomed to the idea that a bookstore and a cafe should be two completely different stores. Monarch Books did not do a survey asking the residents of Collegeville exclusively whether they would like a new concept of bookstore or they would prefer the already existing reader-friendly bookstore.

Secondly, emphasis has been put into the national census data which indicates a significant decline in percentage of the sale of children's books under the age of ten. But, there are no survey which proves that Collegeville has a significant number of residents belonging to the age group below ten. It might be the case that the age group of children in the particular area mainly comprises of older children who prefer books which were written for an older age group of people.

Thirdly, Books and Beans is a company whose stores have always been comprised of a cafeteria and a bookstore and a cafe. Therefore it is quite imminent that they have more experience in designing a store which has the perfect ambience for people to enjoy their books and their beverage at the same time. Monarch Books might lack the expertise to come up with such a store and might loose their business which was strongly active for the past twenty years.

The idea of replacing the children's bookstore with a cafe might backfire severely. In order to compete with their rival company, they should take into consideration about the likes and dislikes of the residents. Surveys should be made about the number of people belonging in certain age groups and therefore adjusting the variety and number of books accordingly. Also, surveys should be made whether there are already flourishing cafes nearby which might lead to the decline in the number of sales in their proposed idea of a bookstore cum cafe.

All in all, the above mentioned crucial points should be taken into consideration by Monarch Books before they wish the absorb the idea of their rival company. Steps should be taken to study the likes of the people of Collegeville exclusively, rather than relying on national census data. Likes and dislikes, reading habits, age groups of the residents should be studied thoroughly before making a drastic change to their already existing bookstore.