Some people believe that it is helpful to view a challenging situation as an opportunity for

personal growth. Others believe that reimagining challenging situations this way occupies

too much of the focus one needs to face challenges effectively.

Write a response in which you discuss which view more closely aligns with your own

position and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and

supporting your position, you should address both of the views presented.

This topic raises the issue of whether perceiving a challenging situation as a chance to further develop strength of caracter or not may help get out of such tricky context. Indubitably, challenges are a common pattern in high-achievers background. From ground-breaking athletes to renowned politicians, exploring life out of one's confort zone brings about considerable changes. Such changes may ortherwise not be achieved without years of efforts. Nevertheless, at the moment someone faces a challenge, it may be preferrable for him not to view this challenge as an opportunity to evolve. After weighing the evidence, it is certain that the more someone is focused on the challenge he faces, the more he will effectively manage to win this challenge.

First of all, one has to consider with thorough scrutinity all the perils one faces, without projecting into an happy ending to this challenge. Such mindset is a common feature of various proeminent historical figures. To illustrate, let us look at the example of General De Gaulle during World War II. Genera De Gaulle led the insurection of french people during the nazi occupation. He is well-known for his austere maneers and his penchant to gravity. He never thought of the difficult challenge he faced as a path to advance his political career. Eventually, he became president after the war. Thus the experience he faced turned out to be an opportunity for him, but at the time of the challenge, he was focused enough to suceed. Moreover, the same applies to illness : consider the late Steve Jobs, who faced cancer with hopes of curing his disease. He thougth of this experience as a way to promote the use of self-medication, but this prevented him from getting proper help and he eventually succumbed to this illness.

Admittedly, athletes use vizualization to face challenging situations. This is true especially when it comes to . In addition, sore losers are not well-perceived in sports for the same reason : it is expected from a loser to learn from being defeated and come back with improved performances. However, the above argument does not constitute a sufficient support to claim that a challenge should be taken as an opportunity, because it is a very parochial outlook. Indeed, sport do not imply challenging situations where life and well-being could be jeopardized, as it is the case with war or social injustice.

Ultimately, after considering both sides of the issue, it must be concluded that one may found it useful to view challenges as a step forward personal development only provided that this challenge is not too critical and that it do not put at stake one's life.