The following recommendation was made by the president and administrative staff of Grove College, a private institution, to the college's governing committee.

"Recently, there have been discussions about ending Grove College's century-old tradition of all-female education by admitting male students into our programs. At a recent faculty meeting, a majority of faculty members voted in favor of co-education, arguing that it would encourage more students to apply to Grove. However, Grove students, both past and present, are against the idea of coeducation. Eighty percent of the students responding to a survey conducted by the student government wanted the school to remain all female, and over half of the alumnae who answered a separate survey also opposed coeducation. Therefore, we recommend maintaining Grove College's tradition of all-female education. We predict that keeping the college all-female will improve morale among students and convince alumnae to keep supporting the college financially."

Write a response in which you discuss what questions would need to be answered in order to decide whether the recommendation is likely to have the predicted result. Be sure to explain how the answers to these questions would help to evaluate the recommendation.

The author states that the college's governing committee should adhere to the college's old tradition of all-female education as it will improve student morale and convince the alumnae to keep supporting the college financially. The author has provided that a majority of the faculty members are in accordance with the decision that college's governing committee is about to make whereas the students and alumnae are against this decision. The author also states that studies were conducted to gain students and alumnae opinions on this particular decision. In my opinion, the following recommendation made by president of Grove college does not hold any water and needs to answer these three questions.

Firstly, Can we say that the consensus shown by the faculty members was their own will? Or Can we say that all faculty members were present in the meeting? There is a possibility where faculty members might have to agree with the college's governing board as not agreeing might risk them their job. It is possible that only some of the faculty members were present that day. If any of this is true, the authors claim is weakened.

Secondly, Should we rely on the data provided by the survey? It might be possible that the survey conducted among the students recieved a low response and among them 80 percent have agreed to follow old tradition. There might be a similar case with the survey conducted for the alumnae. The lack of data given by the author raises these questions and if any of these possibilities turn out to be true then author cannot state his conclusion based on this result.

Thirdly, Can we really say that keeping the college all-female would boost the morale of students and convince alumnae to support? There is a possibility where morality is based on a reason other than keeping the college all-female. It might be possible that the morale of students is low due to high pressure related to studies. It can be true that the alumnae will still support the college financially even if it changes to co-education. These possibilities can weaken authors position and prediction.

Lastly, the author needs to answer the above questions before reaching any conclusion. The author needs to provide multiple evidences related to studies conducted on students and alumnae. The author needs to prove that the morality of students depends only on the factor that school will remain all-female. If the author can provide such things, he can come to a conclusion and strengthen it with apt evidences.