Claim: An piece of information referred to as a fact should be mistrusted, since it may well be proven false in the future.

Reason: Much of the information that people assume is factual turns out to be inaccurate.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the claim and the reason on which that claim is based.

With the rise in technology, we are so interconnected with each other that any news gets spreaded within a split second. We just click on the share button and the news gets shared globally. Not only news but also any piece of information can be shared within a split second. The claim given by the author states that any piece of information referred to as fact shall not be trusted since it may well be proven false in the near future. The reason being, much of the information that people trust and assume to be true turns out to be fallacious. According to me, I believe that I agree with the claim and reason provided by the author by giving three examples.

First, The rise of technology has mounted the spread of any news, fake or true, at such a rate that avoiding the spread of fake news is inevitable. For instance, Social Media is a platform where we can share information in the form of a chat or a post. There are many WhatsApp forwards which are fake yet distributed widely among people. People cannot seem to distinguish between real and fake piece of information which leads to false beliefs. Hence, the reason provided by the author holds some water and the claim is strengthened.

Second, There are various sources to gain information. One of which is the popular media. Some news channels are known to spread fallacious news in order to attract people. People assume it to be true and go with this information as factually correct. This is the reason why people should recheck the information before believing in it. Hence, any information gained by media can be mistrusted since there a high chance of it being proven false in the near future.

Third, The major growth of technology took place after the invention of internet. Internet has become a necessity. It can be accessed for a lot of different things. One of which is accessing information. Anyone has the ability to post information on the internet making it a viable source for fake informations too. Verification of the information becomes a need. People may trust this information to be factual but it may be false. Hence, the reason stated by the author is strengthened.

Some might argue that not all informations provided by such sources are false. This is the reason why people sould re-verify the information that they have gained. People should not completely trust on one source but check on different sources. This will eliminate the possibility of the information to be proven false in the future and the people can assume things to be factual after apt verification.