"Over the past year, our late-night news program has devoted increased time to national news and less time to weather and local news. During this time period, most of the complaints received from viewers were concerned with our station's coverage of weather and local news. In addition, local businesses that used to advertise during our late-night news program have just canceled their advertising contracts with us. Therefore, in order to attract more viewers to the program and to avoid losing any further advertising revenues, we should restore the time devoted to weather and local news to its former level."

The argument asserts that the late-night news program should recover its original level to lure more viewers and avoid losing current advertising revenues. However, the argument has numerous unsubstantiated assumption and is therefore unpersuasive as it stands.

First, the argument suggest that most of the complaints received from viewers were concerned with the current coverage of weather and local news. In order to make this argument effective, there must be the ratio of the suggested complaints to the actual viewers and the comparison of the complaints over the past year. We do not know whether the total complaints have declined. Some might be more satisfied with the change of time which will result in lower complaints. Moreover, without exact ratio of the total complaints to the actual viewers, it might not be reasonable to take an action about it. Furthermore, there might be a possiblity of one person repetedly wrote the same complaints over and over.

Second, the argument contends that many viewers were concerned with the current situation. However, this concerns does not directly lead to possible loss in profit. There must be other statistical evidence to support the current changes that leads to actual loss of the viewers.

Third, the argument asserts that the local businesses are retracting their advertising contracts. However, it does not mention the total advertising revenues. Even though, the local businesses renounce their contracts, there might be more contracts on other nation-wide business company. Since the range of the company to advertise has risen, there might be more competition on advertising contracts which might lead to extra margin. Moreover, there should be more information about the total amount of loss due to this situation. If the new profits outweigh the losses, it would be reasonable to remain.

In conclusion, since the argument that the late-night news program should recover its original level, relies on several insufficient amount of data, it lacks logical reasoning.