The following is part of a memorandum from the president of Humana University.

"Last year the number of students who enrolled in online degree programs offered by nearby Omni University increased by 50 percent. During the same year, Omni showed a significant decrease from prior years in expenditures for dormitory and classroom space, most likely because instruction in the online programs takes place via the Internet. In contrast, over the past three years, enrollment at Humana University has failed to grow, and the cost of maintaining buildings has increased along with our budget deficit. To address these problems, Humana University will begin immediately to create and actively promote online degree programs like those at Omni. We predict that instituting these online degree programs will help Humana both increase its total enrollment and solve its budget problems."

Write a response in which you discuss what questions would need to be answered in order to decide whether the prediction and the argument on which it is based are reasonable. Be sure to explain how the answers to these questions would help to evaluate the prediction.

The president of Humana University asserts that the university should promote online degree program to solve the stagnancy of the enrollment and the budget problem the university face. However, the president's assertion has several unsubstantiated assumptions and is therefore unpersuasive as it stands.

First of all, the president states that the online degree program has increased by 50 percent. Moreover, during that same year the expenditures for the dormitory and the classroom space had a significant decrease. Therefore, the president assumes that there are strong relationships between these two events. However, to verify this assumption, more information needs to be provided. There is a possibility that the decrease of the dormitory expenditure are the result of students not prefering the dormitory. Moreover, to make this relationship persuasive, there must be previous expenditures for the dormitory and the classroom space. The decrease might be a result of other on-going atmosphere.

Secondly, the president presents the past three years of enrollment result, and the increase of the cost of maintaining the building. To relate this statistic for the president's argument, there must be other information about it. The stagnancy of the enrollment might be a result of students not knowing the presence of the university. Moreover, there must be a relationship between enrolling on online programs and the decrease of maintaining the building. There might be other reasons for increasement of the expenditure of maintaining the building.

Finally, the president asserts that promoting online degree programs will increase enrollment and solve the budget deficits at Humana University. However, the president does not consider other possible result of promoting it. Perhaps, people currently enrolling in an off-line class might just move to enrolling an on-line class, resulting no increase in actual enrollment. Even worse, the cost of establishing online classes might outweigh the profits. Moreover, there are no explanation that the online degree program will solve the budget deficits at the university. There might be other reason for the universities current budget deficits. Furthermore, just because the last year's increase in online degree enrollment does not mean the increase will remain the following year.

In conclusion, the president's assertion that the university should instigate online degree program to increase enrollment and solve the buget problem of the university relies on weak substantiation. Therefore, the president fails to give logical explanation and reasoning.