The following report appeared in the newsletter of the West Meria Public Health Council.

"An innovative treatment has come to our attention that promises to significantly reduce absenteeism in our schools and workplaces. A study reports that in nearby East Meria, where fish consumption is very high, people visit the doctor only once or twice per year for the treatment of colds. Clearly, eating a substantial amount of fish can prevent colds. Since colds represent the most frequently given reason for absences from school and work, we recommend the daily use of Ichthaid — a nutritional supplement derived from fish oil — as a good way to prevent colds and lower absenteeism."

Write a response in which you discuss what specific evidence is needed to evaluate the argument and explain how the evidence would weaken or strengthen the argument.

In the above editorial from the new paper, The author states that to curtail absenteeism in school and workplaces, consuming a substantial amount of Ichthaid- a nutritional supplement, derived from fish oil daily is a good way of preventing cold since cold is the imperative factor of absenteeism and consuming fish is directly related to preventing colds. The author strengthens his argument based on the study report of east Maria where fish consumption is very high and people visit a doctor’s office once or twice per year for treatment of a cold. However, before evaluating the author’s argument three unstated assumptions needed to be answered.

First of all the author compares east and west Maria without providing any details about the two cities. Maybe the two towns are not similar at all. Maybe the weather in west Maria is colder than in east Maria. Then one can not say that eating fish is good for preventing colds. Moreover, maybe the population of west Maria is 50 times the population of east Maria. Then based on the doctors’ visit one can not certainly conclude that fish is an indispensable factor to prevent colds. If any one of the above conditions is true, then the author’s argument holds no water. If the author can provide more justifiable evidence regarding the conditions of two cities such as their geographical locations, populations perhaps in a form of a systematic research study then one can evaluate the author’s argument to a certain extent otherwise using circumstances from one thing to generalized and predict others is seriously fictitious.

Secondly, the author provides the conclusion about the direct relation between high fish consumption and the lower number of doctors’ visit regarding a cold based on the study report of east Maria without providing any admissible evidence about the authenticity of the report. There is a possibility that the report is not representable at all. Maybe after catching cold most of the people in east Maria stay at home instead of visiting doctor . In that case the author’s argument is seriously unwarranted. If the author is able to provide more evidence perhaps in the form of a scientific research study about the relation between fish consumption and lower doctor’s visit because of cold then it will strengthen the author’s argument.

Thirdly, the author states that cold is the pivotal factor for absenteeism in schools and workplaces since it is the frequently given reason without providing any necessary evidence about the veracity of the reason. Maybe most of the time employees and students lie about their absenteeism. If the above scenario is true then the author’s argument is built unreliably. Any data perhaps in the form of a statistical chart of an individual about the reason for absenteeism must need to be included to rectify the author’s argument.

In the conclusion, the author's argument stands now is seriously flawed due to its reliance on several unwarranted assumptions. If the author can rectify the three unstated assumptions above and offer more evidence(perhaps in the form of a systematic research study) then, it will be possible to evaluate the viability of the proposed recommendation that daily use of Ichthaid- a nutritional supplement derived from fish oil as a good way to prevent cold and lower absenteeism.