Analytical Writing Assessment Question

The following memo appeared in the newsletter of the West Meria Public Health Council.

"An innovative treatment has come to our attention that promises to significantly reduce absenteeism in our schools and workplaces. A study reports that in nearby East Meria, where fish consumption is very high, people visit the doctor only once or twice per year for the treatment of colds. This shows that eating a substantial amount of fish can clearly prevent colds. Furthermore, since colds are the reason most frequently given for absences from school and work, attendance levels will improve. Therefore, we recommend the daily use of a nutritional supplement derived from fish oil as a good way to prevent colds and lower absenteeism."

Write a response in which you discuss what questions would need to be answered in order to decide whether the recommendation and the argument on which it is based are reasonable. Be sure to explain how the answers to these questions would help to evaluate the recommendation.

in the editorial of a local newsletter, it is stated that daily consumption of fish oil will make them healthy, and thus people would not have colds and could thus alleviate absenteeism.

however, a recommendation can be properly evaluated we need to answer two questions.

First of all, is this situation comparable to people who go to the doctor once or twice a year?

In other words, can the situation of an event be used to compare and make predictions about the other ? is it possible that the reason why people who take leave and are part of absenteeism and those who go to the doctor once or twice a year are two different reasons?

perhaps people who take leave are completely healthy and do that to get a day off for their personal use and have no connection with health issues. if this is statement is true then the argument fails to hold merit.

Secondly, does eating a lot of fish help you to be perfectly healthy?the argument assumes that eating supplements derived from fish oil is good way to prevent everyone from being absent. However, supplements that are derived have chemicals in them and not as healthy as fish itself and assuming everyone has no trouble having and gathering these supplements. It could be that the supplements are not available in the market near them, if any of this is true the above arguments does not hold water.

In conclusion, the argument as it stands now is considerably flawed due to reliance on these unwarranted assumptions, if the author is able to answer these questions asked above and offer more evidence and research then it is possible to evaluate the viability of this research and fully evaluate the research.