The following report appeared in the newsletter of the West Meria Public Health Council.

"An innovative treatment has come to our attention that promises to significantly reduce absenteeism in our schools and workplaces. A study reports that in nearby East Meria, where fish consumption is very high, people visit the doctor only once or twice per year for the treatment of colds. Clearly, eating a substantial amount of fish can prevent colds. Since colds represent the most frequently given reason for absences from school and work, we recommend the daily use of Iachthaid — a nutritional supplement derived from fish oil — as a good way to prevent colds and lower absenteeism."

Write a response in which you discuss what specific evidence is needed to evaluate the argument and explain how the evidence would weaken or strengthen the argument.

The report that appeared in the newsletter of the West Meria Public Health Council makes a direct link between absenteeism in schools and the quantity of fish consumed. This is based on a study in the nearby town where more fish consumption resulted in less people visiting the doctor for the treatment of cold. The report then moves forward to state that eating more fish will result in less cold. On the basis of these observations, it arrives to a conclusion that lachthaid (which is derived from fish oil) should be consumed regularly in order to reduce the absenteeism in schools. However, the report fails to answer many of the critical questions which as necessary to justify the claims made by it.

The report begins by stating that treatment can significantly reduce absenteeism. However, there can be numerous causes for absenteeism and not just cold. It fails to provide the necessary evidence that the people are absent because of cold. Also, the term significant is relative and does not indicate the actual amount of reduction in absenteeism. The actual figures are required in order to prove that there is a major change in the number of people present.

Further the report takes into account the study of East Meria. No information is provided to prove the authenticity of the survey. The survey may be biased in many ways such as the number of people included and may not tend to represent the ground truth of East Meria. The smaller number of people attending the doctors for the treatment of cold present only a partial picture. It may be possible that due to eating excessive fish, people may be suffering from other diseases. No related information is provided that can account for this fact. Furthermore, demographics of both West and East Meria would be required in order to truly assess the claim.

The report further encourages the daily use of lachthaid, a nutritional supplement that is derived from fish oil. There is no data given regarding the health issues after consuming lachthaid. It may be possible that consuming lachthaid on a daily basis may be have detrimental effects on the health of people. The report also states that the most frequent reason for the absence of people is cold. But without the actual figures, this claim is vague as the frequency of other reasons for absence may be too close to the frequency of cold in number. The report also does not explicate why the nutritional supplement of lachthaid is encouraged rather than eating fish on a daily basis.

Clearly, after analyzing the points above, it can be said that the report lacks evidence to prove certain claims that are made. Evidences such as the actual figures, the credibility of the surveys conducted in East Meria, the side effects of overconsumption of fish, the demographics of East and West Meria, and the statistics related to the reasons for absenteeism are not provided in the report. Therefore, people can disagree with the claim and without the answers to these questions, the argument would turn out to be untenable.