The following is taken from a memo from the advertising director of the Super Screen Movie Production Company.

“According to a recent report from our marketing department, during the past year, fewer people attended Super Screen-produced movies than in any other year. And yet the percentage of positive reviews by movie reviewers about specific Super Screen movies actually increased during the past year. Clearly, the contents of these reviews are not reaching enough of our prospective viewers. Thus, the problem lies not with the quality of our movies but with the public’s lack of awareness that movies of good quality are available. Super Screen should therefore allocate a greater share of its budget next year to reaching the public through advertising.”

Write a response in which you discuss what questions would need to be answered in order to decide whether the recommendation and the argument on which it is based are reasonable. Be sure to explain how the answers to these questions would help evaluate the recommendation.

Super Screen Movie Production Company's memo from the advertising director, while showing a clear way forward, still needs to have a few pertinent questions answered. While possibly remedying the situation through advertising, I believe the following questions must be answered before any action is put forward on the recommendation.

In evaluating the attendance of Super Screen-produced movies, two questions must be asked: How many theaters showed Super Screen produced movies last year? How many movies were produced by Super Screen last year? If theaters showing movies and movie production levels have stayed relatively consistent (or even gone up) this would support the argument that more needs to be done in advertising efforts to get people to the movies. However, if either theaters showing or number of movies decreased, public advertising would not remedy the situation of fewer movies to view or viewer places to view them. With the advent of internet-based movie streaming websites, viewership at movies could be directly effected. If Super Screen produced movies is showing their product online, it could directly impact viewership and attendance of their movies shown in theaters.

In gauging the positivity of reviews, we must ask two additional questions: How many reviews are being done on Super Screen movies? How many movie critics are reviewing Super Screen movies? While more positive reviews is a good thing, without knowing the volume of reviews, this can be misconstrued as a false positive. For instance if 100 reviews were leveled against Super Screen produced movies two years ago and 80 of them were positive, but last year 40 reviewers were made with 35 being positive, an indicator could be that, while more positively received, interest is declining in the movies. On the other hand, if Super Screen is reviewed positively, but only by a select number of movie critics, perhaps, what is needed is more outreach to the public and movie critics alike via advertising. To summarize, the percentage of positive reviews is certainly a good thing, that may indeed warrant more advertising to the public to gain awareness, but more must be known about how many reviews are being done.

Finally, one must ask the question about why this memo was written and who was writing it. It certainly can be assumed, certainly, that the advertising director of this company would stand to gain much from a budget increase in advertising. More must be asked about the history of the director's expertise in advertising. Has the director remedied similar problems in other production companies? The director would also need to highlight and could be asked about what medium the advertising would be conducted through. As mentioned previously, more internet advertising, for instance, could be a method for public outreach and awareness with the proposed expanded budget.

In conclusion, an increase in budget would certainly help to increase advertising to the public, but as stated in the previous paragraphs, more must be known about multiple aspects highlighted in the memo, before any action on advertising is put forward.