The following is taken from a memo from the advertising director of the Super Screen Movie Production Company. “According to a recent report from our marketing department, during the past year, fewer people attended Super Screen-produced movies than in any other year. And yet the percentage of positive reviews by movie reviewers about specific Super Screen movies actually increased during the past year. Clearly, the contents of these reviews are not reaching enough of our prospective viewers. Thus, the problem lies not with the quality of our movies but with the public's lack of awareness that movies of good quality are available. Super Screen should therefore allocate a greater share of its budget next year to reaching the public through advertising.”

it might seem axiomatic that the advertising director of the Super Screen movie Production Company (ssmpc) should spend greater share of its budget to advertise more on next year. To justify this argument, the director of the ssmpc cites that while the total number of viewers are at the lowest point of all, the ratio that viewers have been responded as positive increased during the past year. while supporting the proposal, however, the advertising director of the ssmpc makes several assumptions which cannot be taken for granted. therefore, in order to evaluate the argument properly, further questions regarding these assumptions should be answered.

As a threshold matter, this argument hastily assumes that the survey is totally reliable data. Although this might be the case, it is possible that the group of people who voted is significantly different from that of total viewers. Also, the case in which a single viewer comments repeatedly is not have been considered. even if the employees of the ssmpc strict the viewer to vote one by one viewer, the case that a multiple watched viewer cannot be counted. Moreover, if the number of respondents of the survey is relatively small to that of total viewers, then the survey is totally unreliable. thus, we can question the survey of its reliability. therefore, it might be inappropriate to spend greater share to the advertisement in order to advertise more, than just enhancing quality of the movie, since the survey is unreliable and the quality is the matter of the reduction of the viewers. Hence, a question about the reliability of the survey need to be answered in order to assess the argument properly.

even conceding that the survey is totally reliable, the argument is still dubious in that it relies on an unfair assumption. The reduction of the total number of viewers might have resulted from totally different and unexpected reasons, such as depression of economy or reduction of a number of movie theaters. In this respect, the cause is clearly apart from the ssmpc and more closer to the problem of environment and society. As mentioned above, economical depression or movie theater reduction might occur the total number of movie viewers. however, assuming that the reduction of the viewers is resulted from the lack of advertisement cannot help to solve this problem. thus, a question regarding the specific circumstances of social environment must be answered in order to evaluate the argument precisely.

Finally, the argument is still vulnerable in that it unfairly posits that the advertisement can reach further the public by just expending more share of its budges. Though the budget for advertisement is significantly important, it is not the only factor contributing for it. For instance, advertising movie efficiently might be the case, by advertising through some media that likely to expose certain age range that might be the main target of the movie. however, only considering the advertisement budget would lead to unwanted circumstances, when other factors contributing the advertisement such as the efficiency are neglected. therefore, the inquiry about the advertisement should be responded in order to assess the argument properly.

In sum, since numerous assumptions that are unwarranted are applied to this argument, it remains fragile in its form. therefore, questions proposed above need to be answered in order to assess the argument more accurately.