The following is taken from a memo from the advertising director of the Super Screen Movie Production Company. "According to a recent report from our marketing department, during the past year, fewer people attended Super Screen-produced movies than in any other year. And yet the percentage of positive reviews by movie reviewers about specific Super Screen movies actually increased during the past year. Clearly, the contents of these reviews are not reaching enough of our prospective viewers. Thus, the problem lies not with the quality of our movies but with the public's lack of awareness that movies of good quality are available. Super Screen should, therefore, allocate a greater share of its budget next year to reaching the public through advertising."

Write a response in which you discuss what questions would need to be answered in order to decide whether the recommendation and the argument on which it is based are reasonable. Be sure to explain how the answers to these questions would help to evaluate the recommendation.

The advertising director of the Super Screen Movie Production Company is recommending that allocating a greater share of the budget to advertising would increase awareness about the movies being produced by the company and would lead to increased revenue. However, there some questions which need to be answered first before concluding about the reasonability of the recommendation.

Despite the fact that the viewership or the movies of the company hit a record low last year, the percentage of positive reviews increased for specific movies. From this information, it would be very wrong to assume that there is no problem with the quality of the movies. This might be due to the fact that all the people who earlier watched the movies and gave negative reviews have completely stopped watching these movies and therefore are not contributing to the negative reviews. These people may form a very large proportion of the total viewership and the negative reviews which explains why the percentage of the positive reviews has increased, however, this makes it clear that there is a serious problem with the quality of the movies which has led to the loss of this viewership. Considering this as the case, more advertising would not do anything to bring back the lost viewers and would be futile.

Also, it might be possible that the company is already a very well established one and with most of the people being up to date with the news of the movies being produced by the company. The reason they are not going for the movies might be because of the terrible quality and thus increasing advertising would serve no useful purpose.

So, we need to find out about the movie quality from the people who lave stopped watching the movies and know how popular the movies are with the overall population before concluding about the suitability of the director's recommendation.