The best way for a society to prepare its young people for leadership in government, industry, or other fields,is by instilling in them a since of cooperation, not competition.

I do not agree with the statement that teaching the youth only cooperation and not instilling in them a sense of competition is the best way to prepare them for their future jobs. While cooperation undoubtedly is one of the most important quality every young needs to have, without a sense of competition they will become complacent and productivity would be qualified.

Competition, I think plays a prime role in maximizing productivity in any sphere. In my school, after every examination, the name of the top three students of each rade was put on the main bulletin board of the school. Seeing one's name on the board was a matter of great pride and respect and everyone wanted to see their name on the board. It was this sense of competition that motivated the students to perform better and thus increasing each student's productivity.

Consider an example of a ruling party in a government. Had the other parties also be in cooperation with the ruling party, the ruling party would not take any pain in doing work for the people and would do nothing to make the life of the citizens better. Such a system will lead to torpor and inefficient government and would eventually fail. On the contrary, it is the sense of competition in the ruling party to do better than the previous government to retain power which pressurizes it to work hard for the citizens and maintain a productive and efficient government.

Thus we see no matter how small or large a system, competition plays a role of utmost importance. However, an excess of this competition may also lead to imbalance and people should also cooperate with others to maintain harmony.

Thus we see that though cooperation plays a vital role in maintaining a peaceful environment, a sense of competition is also necessary to maintain productivity and efficiency in any system. Therefore, in my view, the young should be instilled a proper balance of cooperation and competition, as an excess of anyone may lead to an inefficient system.