The following was presented as part of a business plan by Apex Corporation.

"To answer the increased demand for artisan coffee, Apex Corporation is releasing a new line of coffee, "Gourmet Select." Apex Corporation will first introduce the coffee into major supermarkets, where it hopes word-of-mouth advertising will sustain sales. After a few months Apex Corp. will run an advertising campaign aimed at television and radio while simultaneously releasing the brand to several major chain restaurants. Based on this strategy, Apex Corporation hopes to make "Gourmet Select" one of the top sellers in the coffee market."

The given argument assumes numerous factors which are out of Apex Corporation's control, to be favourable to their business plan. These assumptions are bold but also overtly optimistic and makes the argument fall apart if proven unwarranted.

First, Apex Corporation plans to introduce "Gourmet Select" into supermarkets where they hope people will buy the coffee and publicize it. This step of the plan is based on the assumption that people will be inclined towards trying a new brand of coffee irrespective of the price of "Gourmet Select" compared to other competitors. And, event if they do try the new coffee, chances are people wont like it for any of a bunch of possible reasons. If this happens, the word-of-mouth publicity will be negative and thus this step of the plan is based on an assumption that doesn't have warrant.

In the second step of the business plan the hope is that after positive word-of-mouth, chain restaurant will want to buy "Gourmet Select". Competition from other brands is not considered here. Lucrative wholesale options for chain restaurants, competitive and reasonable pricing also need to be considered for the step to work in favor of Apex corporation. Also, the advertising campaign part in wanting detail. For the campaign to to be successful, more detailed information like age, beverage preference,etc. about the demography of the areas Apex Corporation wishes to sell "Gourmet Select" in required.

Furthermore, the argument says that Apex Corporation hopes to make "Gourmet Select" a top seller in coffee market. This outcome is too vaguely worded to be analysed. More quantifiable metrics are required to make the argument full proof. For example, "Gourmet Select" can be a top seller in terms of volume sold, revenue generated and profits or even gaining a cult following. We just can't assume one of these.

We can see that the argument lacks solid basis and thus is a very optimistic business plan which might fail.