The best leaders are those who encourage feedback from the people whom they lead.

Feedback is definitely an important input to someone's process of self improvement. The effectiveness and usefulness of the feedback, however, is subject to numerous factors. All the great leaders history presents to us tended to not only encourage feedback from their subjects but also scrutinize the feedback and act on it accordingly and cautiously.

To begin with, consider a situation where a manager in an IT company sent out feedback forms to his resources. There are people who do not take these feedbacks with the seriousness they deserve and just fill out the forms randomly. Such feedback is obviously of no use and works to waste time of the manager instead.

Meanwhile, some sycophantic employees in the same IT company under the same manager might give overtly positive feedback in order to get preference or other professional advantage. Such feedback could cause more harm than good to the motives of improvement of the manager as it may make him complacent.

The polar opposite of this is also a possibility. If someone is jealous, has a grudge or any other negative feeling about the manager, chances are, regardless of the quality of manager's work, their feedback is going to be negative. This doesnt help serve as quality feedback either.

As we can see from the few of a lot of example scenarios discussed above, feedback can not always be trusted. Therefore, a good leader must be, and usually is, analytical about the feedback he receives. Only after diligent thought about the candor and genuineness of the person giving the feedback he/she must commensurately act on how he/she can make use of it to be an even better leader.