SuperCorp recently moved its headquarters to Corporateville. The recent surge in the number of homeowners in Corporateville proves that Corporateville is a superior place to live than Middlesburg, the home of SuperCorp's original headquarters. Moreover, Middlesburg is a predominately urban area and according to an employee survey, SuperCorp has determined that its workers prefer to live in an area that is not urban. Finally, Corporateville has lower taxes than Middlesburg, making it not only a safer place to work but also a cheaper one. Therefore, Supercorp clearly made the best decision.

Write a response in which you examine the stated and/or unstated assumptions of the argument. Be sure to explain how the argument depends on the assumptions and what the implications are if the assumptions prove unwarranted.

The decision of SuperCorp to move its headquarters from Middlesburg to Corporateville is made on a few unwarranted assumptions.

There is a surge in the number of homeowners in Corporateville. This might indeed suggest that its polularity as a good place to live is increasing. However this doesnt necessarily imply that it is superior to Middlesburg in any aspect. The assumption that Corporateville is certainly superior to Middlesburg is thus wrong. The employees of SuperCorp might be worse of in Corporateville than Middlesburg.

In addition to the previous assumption, there is a faulty assumption on which the statistical justification (survey) of the move by SuperCorp is based. First, we have no details about the sample used for the survey. And we are just given the preference of employees to live in a non urban area.Second, considerations need to be given to the proportion of employees from the survey who already live in a non urban area because having the headquarter at a urban area doesnt guarantee that the peope working there will live in a urban area. Thus this might cause the employees to move rather unenthusiastically because of the already set, good life currently.

The final claim made base on lower taxes in Corporateville can only suggest that it Corporateville can be a cheaper place to live. No conclusions about it being a safer place than Middlesburg can be drawn form this fact. Also, the SuperCorp employees might not even care about the taxes and Corporateville being cheaper. We do not have any data from the survey pertinent to financial preferences of SuperCorp employees.

Overall it seems that this decision made by supercorp is based on very limited data. A lot more variables count in a decision this big and a multiple other factors need to be considered along with the elimination of faulty assumptions.