Understanding the past is of little use to those in current positions of leadership.

For a leader, while it may seem tempting, even necessary, to solely focus on the issues of today and discount history as irrelevant, the past can, if studied judiciously, be of immense help in the pursuit of leadership.

As humans we are blessed with a rich and diverse history. The scope of knowledge one can harness from history is practically infinite. The pages of history are filled with examples of leaders who have relied upon the experiences of earlier leaders, historical accounts of situations analogous to ones the leader was facing.

Consider the example of M. S. Dhoni and Virat Kohli, the former and current captains of the Indian international cricket team respectively. Dhoni has under his belt a huge experience given that he had been leading the team successfully for years. The current captain, Kohli does not hesitate to seek advice from Dhoni. He even scrupulously watches games played under the captainship of Dhoni to understand the hows and whys of what made Dhoni the most successful captain of the Indian cricket team. As a result, result we can see that Kohli is on a similar path that of Dhoni of a successful captainship.

Building upon this example, albeit misguidedly, one might argue that Kohli is successful because he refers to the past that was successful. However, in doing so one ignores the important fact that there is a lot, if not more, to be learnt from failures as well. As knowing the whys and hows of why something was a success is of paramount importance, knowing the details of failure is of tantamount importance. Failure is undoubtedly one of the most efficacious factors in learning especially for leaders for whom retrospection is a must.

With enough ingenuity multiple parallels can the drawn from the given example above and it becomes clear that the same is true regardless of the field. The past is indeed a great teacher and leaders must leverage this invaluable source of wisdom in furthering their causes.