The following is a memorandum from the office of Mayor Harrison Smith Jones.

"In order to relieve Briggsville’s notorious traffic congestion, Mayor Harrison Smith Jones plans to build a multi-million dollar subway system. The subway will run through the major downtown areas, a part of the town where buses serve as the only form of public transportation. For years, residents have been complaining both about inconsistent buses, and the general lack of safety while riding the buses. Additionally, the subway will be running twenty-four hours a day. Since motorists will spend less time in traffic, Mayor Harrison Smith Jones expects to see an immediate increase in worker productivity, which will improve the economy of Briggsville."

The given argument is based on numerous, rather optimistic, assumptions which if proved unwarranted will make the argument fall apart.

To begin with, according to the argument the subway will run through the major downtown areas where only buses serve as a way of public transport. And the public is not satisfied with the current bus system due to its inconsistency and lack of safety. Here the argument assumes that the said subway system will not have these flaws and thus the public will be aligned to use it over buses. If true, this will indeed reduce the number of buses in the downtown area eventually and consequently will aid in solving the traffic problem. However if the assumption turns out to be wrong the subway system would be nothing more than an expensive experiment that failed to give expected results matching the desired quantity.

Secondly, the argument states nothing about the locality of the traffic problem in the city of Briggsville. The plan in the memorandum assumes that an alternative means of public transport in the downtown area will ease up the traffic in the entire city. Despite the added option for intra-city travel, no benefits can be observed in the traffic congestion problem if the proposed solution does not address the root area that is causing the problem.

Also, no details about the temporal distribution of the traffic problem are specified by the argument. The proposed subway system will run twenty-four hours a day. This fact has no bearing on the problem at hand if the traffic peaks only during a particular time of the day which is highly probable because majority of the populace works at similar timings. More information about the time of the day at which traffic peaks and the working habits of the demography of Briggsville in terms of working hours is required without which the argument might fail.

At last but not the least, the traffic congestion that occurs in Briggsville might not even be due to the lack of a reliable public transport system. The argument assumes it to be the cause. There are a myriad of other factors that can contribute to traffic congestion like a huge amount of private vehicles, pedestrians interfering with motor vehicles, improperly planned roads, etc. Thus, subway system won't help if this is the case.

As we can see the argument is based on multiple assumptions and will fail if those prove to be unwarranted.