The following was presented as part of a business plan by Apex Corporation.

"To answer the increased demand for artisan coffee, Apex Corporation is releasing a new line of coffee, "Gourmet Select." Apex Corporation will first introduce the coffee into major supermarkets, where it hopes word-of-mouth advertising will sustain sales. After a few months Apex Corp. will run an advertising campaign aimed at television and radio while simultaneously releasing the brand to several major chain restaurants. Based on this strategy, Apex Corporation hopes to make "Gourmet Select" one of the top sellers in the coffee market."

Write a response in which you examine the stated and/or unstated assumptions of the argument. Be sure to explain how the argument depends on these assumptions and what the implications are for the argument if the assumptions prove unwarranted.

The following passage is flawed for many reasons. Primarily, it does not mention the exact statistics for the demand for artisan coffee. Releasing a new line of coffee may not be a boon for Apex Corporation.

The argument mentions that Apex Corporation will introduce the coffee into major supermarkets. Once they introduce the new line of coffee into major supermarkets, it is uncertain if the supermarkets would be ready to partner up with Apex Corporation.

The argument states that Apex Corporation will initially rely solely on word-of-mouth advertising to sustain sales. This form of advertising is very uncertain as it would result negative press, which would cause more harm than good to Apex Corporation. It could lead to people not wanting to buy their coffee which would result in drop in sales.

The argument also talks about Apex Corporation running advertising campaigns for television and radio. Paid advertisements are not always effective as it does not always guarantee an increase in sales. This would result in Apex Corporation spending large amounts of money on advertisements and getting no returns.

Finally, the competition in the coffee market is very high and it is not certain that "Gourmet Select" would be one of the top sellers in the coffee market.