The following was written as a part of an application for a small-business loan by a group of developers in the city of Monroe.

"A jazz music club in Monroe would be a tremendously profitable enterprise. Currently, the nearest jazz club is 65 miles away; thus, the proposed new jazz club in Monroe, the C-Note, would have the local market all to itself. Plus, jazz is extremely popular in Monroe: over 100,000 people attended Monroe's annual jazz festival last summer; several well-known jazz musicians live in Monroe; and the highest-rated radio program in Monroe is 'Jazz Nightly,' which airs every weeknight at 7 P.M. Finally, a nationwide study indicates that the typical jazz fan spends close to $1,000 per year on jazz entertainment."

Write a response in which you discuss what specific evidence is needed to evaluate the argument and explain how the evidence would weaken or strengthen the argument.

The argument is flawed for many reasons. Primarily, the argument talks about how opening a jazz music club in Monroe would be a profitable enterprise but is misses out on the point where a jazz music fan would be willing to travel the distance.

The argument states that opening a jazz club in Monroe would be a profitable enterprise. However, it does not mention the jazz fans that would be willing to travel the distance to listen to their favourite genre of music. Opening a local jazz club may be welcomed by a few local fans but the argument does not take into account, the rest of the jazz fans. Had the argument provided the consensus of the overall jazz fans, even then the argument would have to give further evidence that jazz fans would prefer going to a local jazz club and not travel 65 miles.

The argument talks about a typical jazz fan who spends close to $1,000 per year on jazz entertainment. This statement, in my opinion, is very vague. The argument initially talks about opening a jazz club in Monroe but later goes on to talk about how jazz fans in general are willing to spend large amounts of money to listen to jazz music. Had the argument mentioned jazz fans from Monroe, the argument would have to further prove that the jazz fans in Monroe are willing to spend large amounts of money.

The argument talks about how jazz fans are willing to spend large amounts of money to listen to jazz music. This cost could also include travel which is not mentioned in the argument.

Because the argument makes unwarranted assumptions, it fails to make a convincing case that opening a jazz club in Monroe would be a profitable enterprise.