Governments should place few, if any, restrictions on scientific research and development.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the recommendation and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and supporting your position, describe specific circumstances in which adopting the recommendation would or would not be advantageous and explain how these examples shape your position.

Scientific research plays an important role in the development of any country. However, we cannot neglect the fact that every good has its bad effect and depends on how we use them. Since humans would use scientific research for their own selfish gain, I would say that the government should place few restrictions on scientific research.

Consider the research in the medical field. The main purpose of a medical drug is to cure the sickness. The medicine would work only when consumed in certain dosages. Now a days, people consume prescription drugs for recreational purposes. Consuming drugs in such a way ultimately leads to side effects. People buy over the counter medicines and sell these drugs illegally which gave rise to the smuggling industry

We know that nuclear energy is one of the main energy sources to generate power because of which we can save the limited non-renewable energy sources. However we cannot forget the countries that use this nuclear energy for war crimes which resulted in world war 1 and world war 2.

In conclusion, I would say that government should place restrictions on scientific research in a way where the research can only be used for the betterment of humanity.