The following was written by a group of developers in the city of Monroe.

"A jazz music club in Monroe would be a tremendously profitable enterprise. At present, the nearest jazz club is over 60 miles away from Monroe; thus, our proposed club, the C Note, would have the local market all to itself. In addition, there is ample evidence of the popularity of jazz in Monroe: over 100,000 people attended Monroe's jazz festival last summer, several well-known jazz musicians live in Monroe, and the highest-rated radio program in Monroe is 'Jazz Nightly.' Finally, a nationwide study indicates that the typical jazz fan spends close to $1,000 per year on jazz entertainment. We therefore predict that the C Note cannot help but make money."

Write a response in which you discuss what questions would need to be answered in order to decide whether the prediction and the argument on which it is based are reasonable. Be sure to explain how the answers to these questions would help to evaluate the prediction.

According to the report submitted by the group of developers in the city of Monroe, a Jazz music club in Monroe would be a tremendously profitable enterprise. The evidence that they provide to support their argument is that the proposed club (the C Note) will have a monopoly in the city of Monroe, which houses many well known jazz musicians and a lot of residents are obsequious Jazz music fans. However before this reccomendation is properly evaluated, the following three questions must be answered.

Firstly, 100,000 people attending Monroe’s Jazz festival is not an concrete evidence that supports the fact that Monroe’s residents like Jazz. It is an assumption that all the people that attended the festival were residents of Monroe. Whereas, as is the case with most music concerts, it is not an abberation to believe that about half of the concert’s audience was not, in fact from Monroe. If that is the case, then the argument that Monroe’s residents are Jazz fans is significantly weakened.

Secondly, it is assumed that people who listen to Jazz on the radio will be regular customers to the proposed new Jazz music club in the city. There might be people who just want to listen to the music from the comfort of their homes. Also, there might be people who just listen to jazz while multitasking with some household chores or some other work. These people will not find it practical to visit a Jazz music club, even if it in their city.

Thirdly, there is no mention of the population of the city of Monroe. If we want to run a profitable buisness, then we require constant flow of customers which might not be possible in a small city with a small population. Maybe that was the reason why, the nearest Jazz club was setup in a city which is bigger in size than Monroe.

In conclusion, the argument that stands now, is considerably flawed due to its reliance on several unwarranted assumptions. If the group is able to answer these questions and provide concrete evidence supporting their argument (perhaps in the form of a research study), then it will be possible to full evaluate the viability of the proposed Jazz club in Monroe.