Some people believe that in order to thrive, a society must put its own overall success before the well-being of its individual citizens. Others believe that the well-being of a society can only be measured by the general welfare of all its people.

Write a response in which you discuss which view more closely aligns with your own position and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and supporting your position, you should address both of the views presented.

A society as a whole thrives only when all its citizens are happy and content. In this context, a society can be thought of vaguely as a group of citizens residing in a country, state or province. In my opinion, I mostly agree with the second argument that the well being of a society can be measured by the general welfare of all its people for the following two reasons.

To begin, when we talk about any society, the most fundamental part of it, are the citizens themselves. The citizen’s needs and comforts are the of atmost importance and these need to be addressed before any other issue is brought to the table. For example, take the case of the Bhutan, which is the only country that measures its success in the form of happiness index. They believe that, if the citizens of their country are happy and content, then there is no need to consider the monetary aspects such as ‘per capita income’ or the GDP to measure the success of the society. Thus, I believe that if the citizens of a society are ‘content’, then the society as an overall is bound to excel in all aspects.

Furthermore, other aspects of a society like equality, fraternity stem directly from the root, that is the citizens. If the citizens themselves consider each an every member of the society like a family member without considering their race or any other prejudice, then the society as a whole develops a healthy atmosphere. In a recent study, it was found that some tribes in Africa lead a much happier life as compared to their counterparts in another region of the world. This success was attributed to the fact that, even with their meager incomes and substandard health facilities, they embrace each and every member of their tribe as their own and live in synergy with nature. There can be no better proof that, if the citizens are compassionate towards each other and are happy in their company, then the society is bound to thrive.

In contrast, I also feel that, in some cases, a society must put its own overall success before the well-being of its individual citizens. There are some decisions that need to be taken, even if it comes at a cost of compromising the well-being of some citizens of the society. This is because, the world (even if we believe it to be) is not an ideal place and some collateral damage is unavoidable. But, it is imperative to say that, such decisions must be avoided as far as possible and even if they are taken, then they should be done after the consensus of the involved parties. Thus, in conclusion, we can say that citizens form an integral and inseparable part of the society and the society as a whole will thrive only when all its citizens are happy.