The following was written as a part of an application for a small business loan by a group of developers in the city of Monroe.

A jazz music club in Monroe would be a tremendously profitable enterprise. Currently, the nearest jazz club is 65 miles away; thus, the proposed new jazz club in Monroe, the C-Note, would have the local market all to itself. Plus, jazz is extremely popular in Monroe: over 100,000 people attended Monroe's annual jazz festival last summer; several well-known jazz musicians live in Monroe; and the highest-rated radio program in Monroe is 'Jazz Nightly,' which airs every weeknight at 7 P.M. Finally, a nationwide study indicates that the typical jazz fan spends close to $1,000 per year on jazz entertainment.

Write a response in which you discuss what specific evidence is needed to evaluate the argument and explain how the evidence would weaken or strengthen the argument.

A group of developers has filed a small-business loan application to develop a Jazz music club in the city of Monroe based on the prediction that it will be a lucrative business model since the residents of Monroe regularly enjoy Jazz music and the closest Jazz club is 65 miles away from the city. However, this proposal for loan approval lacks concrete support, and a seemingly cursory approach has been employed in reaching conclusions. A battery of questions must be answered before the loan application is evaluated for approval.

Firstly, is a nationwide study of Jazz enthusiasts comparable to the enthusiasts residing in the city of Monroe? In other words, can a national survey be used to generalize the interests of the residents living in a city? The advocates of the Jazz club are taking giant leaps in making assumptions that the study would also apply to the people of Monroe, who relish Jazz and will spend thousands of dollars every year on Jazz entertainment. If the above-stated question has any merit, then it would significantly weaken the argument made in the proposal.

Second, the advocates mention that over 100,000 people attended last summer's annual jazz festival. This broad argument requests yet another question that must be answered. Is the data gathered from just one year sufficient to extrapolate the success of opening a Jazz club? The data does not explicitly mention what percentage of people in attendance at the festival were residents of Monroe. Therefore, this attempt of the argument to establish the popularity of Jazz among the residents of Monroe is rendered feeble.

Lastly, Why spend money when you can get it for free? One could potentially argue that it would be counterproductive to build a jazz club since people could conveniently listen to Jazz music over the radio every night from their homes. This would fulfill their keen musical interests and prevent them from spending money in the club. If the above assumption is valid and practical, the advocacy of the argument will not hold any water.

In conclusion, the argument as it stands now, due to several unanswered assumptions, is flawed. More penetrating data regarding the extent to which Jazz music is enjoyed and the intentions of using the club regularly by city residents must be evaluated before sanctioning a loan for the Jazz club.